This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Yen, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. TTAV134

    TTAV134 MDL Expert

    Mar 1, 2009
    1,559
    623
    60
    HI?

    Not really important but an other way to read the flash protection flag

    HPBI103 read vpro override_state
     
  2. motion55

    motion55 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2008
    51
    1
    0
    Is it possible that flag protection override enable/disable is only for the VPro feature?

    If so it might only work with those laptops with the vPro feature.
     
  3. TTAV134

    TTAV134 MDL Expert

    Mar 1, 2009
    1,559
    623
    60
    hi,

    witch command, HPBI103 with other arguments or HPBI103 read vpro ?
     
  4. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,450
    1,597
    180
    HPBI103 read vpro
     
  5. andmail

    andmail MDL Junior Member

    May 11, 2008
    83
    2
    0
    #445 andmail, Aug 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  6. TTAV134

    TTAV134 MDL Expert

    Mar 1, 2009
    1,559
    623
    60
    hi,

    I fill bad and I'm stopping investigations.

    it was a pleasure
     
  7. gdyag

    gdyag MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    #447 gdyag, Aug 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Hi
    thank you all for your great work to mod HPs bios

    i have an old TC4400 so bios mod should be possible
    i have downloaded the bios modded by TTAV134 (thanks!) but im a bit concerned about flashing it
    i started hpqflash and pressed next once to check the slic table with hxden and then closed the program without flashing and got the Windows error message
    "HPQFlash.exe doesnt work anymore"
    details:
    Code:
    Problemsignatur:
      Problemereignisname:	APPCRASH
      Anwendungsname:	HPQFlash.exe
      Anwendungsversion:	4.2.5.3
      Anwendungszeitstempel:	48a07d25
      Fehlermodulname:	FlashDLL.dll
      Fehlermodulversion:	4.2.5.3
      Fehlermodulzeitstempel:	48a049c4
      Ausnahmecode:	c0000005
      Ausnahmeoffset:	00007867
      Betriebsystemversion:	6.1.7100.2.0.0.256.1
      Gebietsschema-ID:	1031
      Zusatzinformation 1:	0a9e
      Zusatzinformation 2:	0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
      Zusatzinformation 3:	0a9e
      Zusatzinformation 4:	0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    i don't get this error msg when using the original HPQFlash!
    im using windows 7 RC

    is this problem already known, TTAV134? does the flasher work anyway? has someone allready reportet success - and what OS did he use to flash the bios?

    thanks
     
  8. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,450
    1,597
    180
    Just flash it, in worse case you can just recover.
    It is not terminal even if it goes wrong

    sebus
     
  9. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,450
    1,597
    180
    Do not feel bad, pity for all the users that are left behind.
    Maybe one day something good will turn up

    One can always hope....

    Thanks for your help

    sebus
     
  10. andmail

    andmail MDL Junior Member

    May 11, 2008
    83
    2
    0
    I think like you.

    All is not lost...

    As Yen wrote here
    Maybe there is a solution, except this...

    In any case,
     
  11. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,450
    1,597
    180
    I think I will get Willem EPROM Programmer after all

    sebus
     
  12. gdyag

    gdyag MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    thanks for your quick replay, sebus
    i won't flash it for now because i still hope i can grab a copy of win7 from my university
    when i don't manage to get that, i'll try it for sure, even if i don't have a usb floppy to recover
     
  13. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,450
    1,597
    180
    But it is more fun to do it with SLP/SLIC/OEM

    sebus
     
  14. gdyag

    gdyag MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    you'r right, but i love my tablet pc and if i don't have to i don't risk to brick it, even if the chances that i will destroy it irrevocably are quite small
    on the other hand it's quite interesting what you can get for free from your university either by asking or by just taking it :D
     
  15. kujrv1

    kujrv1 MDL Novice

    Aug 21, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    Worked nc6320

    Thank you very much. It works perfectly for nc6320 change with HxD editor in ram while hpqflash is waiting to flash metod in page 10
     
  16. TTAV134

    TTAV134 MDL Expert

    Mar 1, 2009
    1,559
    623
    60
    hi,

    Thanks, but why using manual method as there is a bios mod for your machine HERE?
     
  17. gdyag

    gdyag MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    wow TTAV134, very impressive work :eek:

    but hopefully there will be found an other way to mod the bios, otherwise MS will be right that only some scientists can hack win7
     
  18. motion55

    motion55 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2008
    51
    1
    0
    Maybe there is a way to program the flash device in circuit?