VMware Workstation 12 Pro/Player SLP/SLIC BIOS/EFI Mod

Discussion in 'Virtualization' started by pantagruel, Aug 26, 2015.

  1. pantagruel

    pantagruel MDL Member

    Aug 30, 2007
    166
    436
    10
  2. LostED

    LostED MDL MIRROR Hardlink

    Jul 30, 2009
    3,165
    7,936
    120
    #2 LostED, Aug 26, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  3. fbifido

    fbifido MDL Member

    Jun 6, 2007
    184
    26
    10
    Can someone post the Dell 2.3 SLIC mod of this.

    Thanks.
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,613
    2,971
    300
  5. andrews

    andrews MDL Novice

    Jul 31, 2009
    41
    15
    0
    Another possibility....

    If you have SLIC 2.3 your machine BIOS that VMWare Workstation is running on, you can add 3 lines to your <VM name>.vmx file and it will pass through the SLIC from your hardware BIOS...

    acpi.passthru.slic = "TRUE"
    acpi.passthru.slicvendor = "TRUE"
    SMBIOS.reflecthost = "TRUE"
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,613
    2,971
    300
    Andrews have you actually tried this ? if I remember there was a discussion thread before and it did not work.
     
  7. andrews

    andrews MDL Novice

    Jul 31, 2009
    41
    15
    0
    As far as I can tell it did....
    I have a Dell T5500 SLIC 2.3. Used it in vmware 11 and 12 with Windows Loader 2.2.2 to load the certs into the OS - it said SLIC 2.3 in Windows Loader...
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,613
    2,971
    300
    there was discussion from this thread onwards
     
  9. pantagruel

    pantagruel MDL Member

    Aug 30, 2007
    166
    436
    10
  10. kelorgo

    kelorgo MDL Addicted

    Oct 29, 2012
    831
    1,490
    30
    The conclusion of the discussion is that IF you have a valid SLIC on the host, you CAN pass that through to the guest and it activates Windows. However, if you don't have a valid SLIC, then the various SLIC-related options in .vmx will not enable you to load arbitrary SLIC from a file and won't get you an activated Windows.
     
  11. ZaForD

    ZaForD MDL Expert

    Jan 26, 2008
    1,181
    170
    60
    Had to build a few VMs today, so built them a box I know has an OEM SLIC (v2.1) in the BIOS, added the three lines from above to the .vmx and both activated perfectly. :)
    Can't see why it wouldn't still work with SLIC v2.3.
     
  12. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,613
    2,971
    300
    @ ZaForD, @ andrews, my mistake as I said thread was a while back.
     
  13. Armageus

    Armageus MDL Novice

    Nov 4, 2014
    1
    0
    0
    Will this work for VMWare Player 12?
     
  14. pantagruel

    pantagruel MDL Member

    Aug 30, 2007
    166
    436
    10
    Yes, it will.
     
  15. briseis

    briseis MDL Novice

    Nov 30, 2009
    11
    0
    0
    Just to clarify on my understanding:

    I'm running Vmware workstation 11 with a vmware BIOS build 397 (guest is win 7). Would I need a BIOS Build 429 to run Vmware 12?

    If so, could someone compile an ASUS SLIC bios that I can integrate with a resource manager?
     
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,613
    2,971
    300
    Read my post Here
     
  17. briseis

    briseis MDL Novice

    Nov 30, 2009
    11
    0
    0
    I would prefer a modified vmware-vmx.exe because I'm running some encrypted VMs. One can't edit a vmx file as long as a vm is running encrypted.
     
  18. pantagruel

    pantagruel MDL Member

    Aug 30, 2007
    166
    436
    10
    #19 pantagruel, Sep 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  19. lt

    lt MDL Novice

    Nov 29, 2012
    21
    4
    0
    syntax error: a few (yea right!) :D