This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Yen, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. Gryzor

    Gryzor MDL Novice

    Sep 18, 2008
    30
    4
    0
    judging from the test I've been doing: hp pheonix bios 360AF3E.WPH per ex can be open by the phoenix tool, and other tools. while Hp rom pack 68MVD.BIN per ex can not be open by the phoenix tool (no BPC) ..
     
  2. JetTec

    JetTec MDL Novice

    Aug 20, 2009
    14
    0
    0
    Good Morning,

    i thought you found the Holy Grail, what a pity.

    I own a 6715s, so any chance to mod a Rompaq soon?
     
  3. tamarinde

    tamarinde MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2009
    28
    0
    0
    Modding is easy. The problem is the write protection when you are flashing
     
  4. Yen

    Yen Administrator
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,574
    9,794
    340
    The HPQ bioses are completely different in structure. In fact we cannot really mod HPQ bioses. We can replace an existing SLIC, that's all.
    At Phoenix bioses we can decompose the entire bios and mod any code we want to.

    Phoenix bioses:

    Phoenix old style
    Phoenix new style
    (Phoenix) Award

    These three are really modifiable.

    HPQ-Phoenix
    DELL-Phoenix
    Replacement of uncompressed code (SLIC) only.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sektion31

    sektion31 MDL Novice

    Aug 27, 2009
    6
    0
    0
    Hi,

    I have an HP 2510P. Is that an HPQ-Phoenix BIOS or is it a modable one? There is no hint for the manufactorer in the BIOS.

    Is there anything I can provide to help you guys?
     
  6. Tahunasky

    Tahunasky MDL Junior Member

    Jul 19, 2009
    57
    3
    0
    do you know if the backup option makes a cab file with the signature and ver file in it ?
    if so you could backup the one in your laptop that u used the eprom programmer on ???
     
  7. andmail

    andmail MDL Junior Member

    May 11, 2008
    83
    2
    0
    #571 andmail, Sep 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017 at 1:44 PM
  8. TTAV134

    TTAV134 MDL Expert

    Mar 1, 2009
    1,559
    623
    60
    #572 TTAV134, Sep 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017 at 1:44 PM
  9. naseap

    naseap MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    479
    121
    10
    I am looking to buy an eeprom programmer. Should I go with the Willem parallel port or the MCUmall USB port programmer. The USB programmer is more than twice the price. My pcs do not have parallel ports so I would have to get a pci parallel port card. Do the parallel port to USB cables work for this. Thanks.
     
  10. engage16

    engage16 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    51
    0
    0
    I wrote it so that pretty much anyone could sit down and mod a bios without any complex cmd line changes or anything
     
  11. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,440
    1,594
    180
    Could we agree that VPro has nothing to do with the protection of these BIOS's?
    VPro relates only & ONLY to Intel

    Notebooks ie 6715b based on AMD also have double SLIC & can not be flashed & they do NOT have any value for VPro

    sebus
     
  12. andmail

    andmail MDL Junior Member

    May 11, 2008
    83
    2
    0

    So, there's must be a host-based software, that can write "protected" region directly... (a compatible uniflash'er or HPQFlash.exe with the correct command line parameters?)
     
  13. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,440
    1,594
    180
    I would think so. Or maybe a little flag in the BIOS file itself that makes the rompaq flash the lot.

    sebus
     
  14. bilal101

    bilal101 MDL Novice

    Aug 14, 2009
    12
    0
    0
    6730s upgraded from SLIC 2.0 to 2.1 !!!

    Heres something that may interest some of you.

    I've just bought a used HP COmpaq 6730s running BIOS F.05 07/29/2008

    This has a SLIC 2.0 entry and appears to have two occurances of the OEM marker

    I've upgraded to the latest bios from HP F.11 08/03/2009

    hey presto ..... now SLIC 2.1

    woo hooo !!!!! :D