Dell non-official charger BIOS mod

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by jotik, Feb 6, 2012.

1. jotik

jotik MDL Novice

Feb 6, 2012
    #1 jotik, Feb 6, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Hello all!

The charger for my Dell Vostro 1015 died recently. So I bought an universal power adapter, which was twice as cheap than the official one which is too expensive for me at the moment. It outputs out a near-perfect 19,5 V for the laptop, but the laptop refuses to charge its battery with this charger. The BIOS outputs:
    Code:
    The AC power adapter wattage and type cannot be determined.\r\n The battery may not charge.\r\n The system will adjust the performance to match the power available.\r\n Please connect a Dell 65W AC adapter or greater for best system performance.
    etc...

I'm a beginner with BIOS hacking, but I've investigated some x86 code in the past. Some of the tools posted in these forums have also been handy. I think it was AndyP's PhoenixTool which helped me split the 1015_a06.hdr file from the 1015_a06.exe BIOS updater executable. In the last 3-4 days I have browsed through thousands of posts on MDL reading about Dell BIOS modding.

But I still haven't been able to figure out whether it is possible to work around this issue by modifying the BIOS. My problems are mostly due to lack of documentation on BIOS coding. My list of questions about such BIOS images grows as I investigate:
    • Does 'out 74h, A; in V, 75h' read a byte V from offset A from some kind of memory (CMOS)?
    • Does 'out 74h, A; out 75h, V' write the value V to offset A to the same memory?
    • What are I/O ports 0B2h and 84h? Why is the same value always output to both of these by consecutive x86 out instructions? What are the semantics for this? Is this SMI/SMBUS? Where can I find documentation for this?
    • Do x86 'out' instructions sometimes modify contents of the registers? (SMI?)