Page 1 of 190 1234 11 51 101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 1891

Thread: This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?

  1. #1
    Administrator Yen's Avatar
    Join Date
    07 May 2007
    Location
    In your mind!
    Posts
    10,748
    Thanks Information

    Default This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?

    Update 15/11/2010:
    A lot of progress has been made already!
    - SLIC 2.1 for all models
    - SLP lock removed on all models
    - WLAN/WWAN whitelists removed
    - Windows and DOS patched flashing tools

    Have a look here:


    SLIC2.1 post

    and

    WWAN/WLAN whitelists removal post



    Here are good sources: some in German
    http://www.wimsbios.com/phpBB2/topic9388.html
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=180607
    http://www.internetforen.de/viewtopi...r=asc&start=30

    Decompression and tools:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/176078752/ADDCC.rar
    "I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all is vanity and a striving after wind." ~Prophet OT
    My pictures / slideshows. Laos 2015/17

    Consider to delete whatsapp!!! Alternatives ~Yen.

  2. #2
    MDL Junior Member
    Join Date
    31 Jul 2009
    Posts
    72
    Thanks Information

    Default

    I wonder if the new hp mini 110 are slic2.1 hackable, here is the download page:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...roduct=3965137

    I see bios releases F07 and F06 as downlodable, inside there is an executable file

  3. #3
    MDL Junior Member
    Join Date
    11 May 2008
    Posts
    83
    Thanks Information

    Default

    I want to replace slic 2.0 to slic 2.1 in HP Compaq 8710p BIOS

    See my post here: http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showthread.php?t=6580

  4. #4
    MDL Guru
    Join Date
    24 Jul 2008
    Location
    Island
    Posts
    5,524
    Thanks Information

    Default

    It would be nice to find out:

    - if HP actually use CRCxx check
    - which block of the BIOS HEX HP uses for the CRC32


    Correcting just checksum32 is easy (as per Yen's links above), have to try rompaq with such "corrected" BIOS bin file

    sebus

    edit - having the same checksum32 as original file makes no difference to the rompaq, still refuses to accept the bin file

  5. #5
    MDL Member halaween's Avatar
    Join Date
    31 Aug 2007
    Posts
    200
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Hi Yen,

    We are here back, hopefully your project of automatic tools for phoenix bios is completed or nearby.

    It is good to start again with COMPAQ bios, and as you know you mod one bios for me that is for HP COMPAQ 6510b, but unfortunately i failed to flash it because of the probelm of the CRC and rom sig.
    the original bios file is here:

    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...tem=ob-67822-1

    Thank you for your efforts

  6. #6
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    18 Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Hi Yen,

    Hopefully you are making progress as ADDCC tools do not work for new update in ROMPaq BIOS.

    Please help us.

  7. #7
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    28 Jul 2009
    Posts
    46
    Thanks Information

    Default

    can anyone show the tutorial how to this on their own?
    with picture will be perfect.

  8. #8
    MDL Guru
    Join Date
    24 Jul 2008
    Location
    Island
    Posts
    5,524
    Thanks Information

    Default

    ADDCC was only to be used when enabling different wifi cards.
    The changes usually were 4 or so bytes & somehow the routine was able to correct the crc/checksum using 8 selected bytes
    I can say from testing that when changing the slic from 2.0 to 2.1 same routine is not able to correct the crc

    In fact I do not even understand what the ADDCC was using for calculating additiv checksum (it certainly is NOT checksum32 or CRC32)

    I can manually correct checksum32, but rompaq refuses to accept the file, so I think it is CRC that is being checked

    sebus

  9. #9
    MDL Guru
    Join Date
    24 Jul 2008
    Location
    Island
    Posts
    5,524
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mbuhgakeruh View Post
    can anyone show the tutorial how to this on their own?
    with picture will be perfect.
    Sure, when we learn how to do it.....

  10. #10
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    16 Sep 2008
    Posts
    29
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Is a bios with SLIC2.1, for a HP 6710b Laptop possible? - And where?

Similar Threads

  1. Request thread for problematic Phoenix bioses, preferably SONY VAIO and others.
    By Yen in forum BIOS Mod Requests. Post Requests Only
    Replies: 1876
    Last Post: 09 Mar 2017, 00:30
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31 May 2014, 06:24
  3. Old request thread for SLP 1.0 BIOS mods- Use stickied thread above
    By WeAreNotAlone in forum Windows XP / Previous MS Operating Systems
    Replies: 135
    Last Post: 02 Nov 2011, 04:16
  4. request hp compaq bios
    By vidyut in forum BIOS Mods
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25 Jun 2010, 05:15
  5. Modify BIOS for compaq presario V3660TU
    By hyundai8818 in forum BIOS Mods
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02 Nov 2009, 18:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •