Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Gtx1070 in pcie x16 + amd 6570 in pcie x4 Need Help

  1. #1
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Information

    Question Gtx1070 in pcie x16 + amd 6570 in pcie x4 Need Help

    My monitor is plugged into my amd card via dvi. So far as long as my gtx1070 is plugged into my mobo it seems to be my main display device even though it is not plugged into my monitor. If i unplug the gtx1070 from the mother bored the other card works fine while in the pciex4 slot. Is there a way to force my amd card to be the one my system uses by default. maybe this is a linux question.
    Last edited by LdMad; 21 Mar 2017 at 04:45. Reason: clarify

  2. #2
    MDL Crazy Lady Michaela Joy's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jul 2012
    Location
    The bowels of Brooklyn
    Posts
    2,734
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Which MoBo is it? What OS are you running?

    Is there a way to set the primary Video card in the BIOS?
    "He who works with his hands is a laborer.
    He who works with his hands and his mind is a craftsman.
    He who works with his hands, his mind, and his heart is an artist."
    ― Saint Francis of Assisi

    “The first gulp from the glass of natural sciences will turn you into an atheist, but at the bottom of the glass God is waiting for you.”
    ― Werner Heisenberg

    I'd rather clean latrines in the armies of Heaven, than be a general in the armies of Hell.
    ― (Guess... )

  3. #3
    MDL Guru Hadron-Curious's Avatar
    Join Date
    04 Jul 2014
    Location
    NIGERIA
    Posts
    3,006
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LdMad View Post
    My monitor is plugged into my amd card via dvi. I dont need my gtx 1070 plugged into a monitor since im going to be passing it to my QEMU virtual machine using kvm-pci-passthrough. So far as long as my gtx1070 is plugged into my mobo it seems to be my main display device even though it is not plugged into my monitor. If i unplug the gtx1070 from the mother bored the other card works fine while in the pciex4 slot. Is there a way to force my amd card to be the one my system uses by default. maybe this is a linux question.
    If you are not going to be using the GTX 1070 as you said then disable it at Device Manager.

  4. #4
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Information

    Default

    I have the M5a97 r2 motherboard. I now have a completely functioning OVMF PCI passthrough on my linux Host with a windows 10 guest having the amd card in the x4 slot. The linux system is unfortunately stuck with the gtx1070. Things i learned was: (1) you can pass x4 pcie slots to qemu, (2) I did not loose much gpu performance using a low end card in the x4 slot. (3) It is a hassle and maybe impossible to pass primary card to a Guest VM.
    Last edited by LdMad; Today at 07:21.

  5. #5
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Information

    Default

    I have started another linux thread dealing with my quest for the perfect pci-passthrough linux/windows gaming setup. It is located in the linux section and titled "(pci/peg boot) dual amd+nvidia gpu (qemu-kvm+pci-passthrough) or somthing like that. Here i just want to clarify to one of the other above comments that i did indeed have an option in my bios that may help me pass-through the gtx1070 in the first x16 slot. It is called (PEG/pci boot device) PEG stands for pci express graphics and pci for the other pci slots i guess. since i have a working config with the x4 slot being passed through to vm i am going to install another arch linux system and try the bios feature to change primary gpu boot device. thanks again and sorry to the person who mentioned for me to look for this feature. You were right about it being there. i will try to post back on my results for some sort of conclusion.
    Last edited by LdMad; Today at 07:22.

  6. #6
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Has anyone actually used the (PEG/PCI primary boot device) option. If it would have worked i could have passed my gtx1070 in the PCI-e x16 lane to the virtual machine and gamed on windows with that. But the option just would not do s**t. i tried all setings in (mkinitcpio.conf, vfio.conf, modprobe.d,) i also tried all possible monitor configurations with hdmi,dvi,vga, nothing. Im mad that the bios has the option, but it doesnt do what it says. Anyone? Anyone Ever use it?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02 Dec 2016, 04:24
  2. PCIe, How does the Bios Know?
    By catgirl in forum BIOS Mods
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03 May 2016, 11:11
  3. How to update ROM on Realtek PCIe GBE
    By imperpl in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07 Jan 2013, 00:22
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03 Jan 2013, 19:42
  5. CRT Monitor won't initialize through PCIE.
    By apoorvasheth in forum PC Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14 Feb 2010, 19:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •