Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [Solved] Asus ROG G46VW laptop downgrade W8-->W7Ultimate-x64 activation issues

  1. #1
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Information

    Exclamation [Solved] Asus ROG G46VW laptop downgrade W8-->W7Ultimate-x64 activation issues

    Okay, let's get the "yer stupid!","dummy!","RTFM!","RTFT!" comments out of the way...

    ...There! :-)


    Now to the gist of the problem:

    I got this very nice laptop from a friend a couple years ago, preloaded with Win8. HATE Win8. Couldn't even get it to restore to OEM (friend deleted the partition somehow). KInda lived with it for awhile. Decided recently I had no real need for it anymore, so I'm selling it to another friend who's in dire need of a replacement laptop; but he will NOT use anything above Win7. I, confident in my ability to install W7 with Daz (successfully on a couple of my own machines), figured it would be a simple process...

    ...NOT. :-/ My old copy of Win7 (from this forum) with Daz wouldn't even boot, lovely BSOD.

    So, with help from y'all and the Asus ROG forums, I managed to do it. I had to download a new version of Win7+SP1, from the forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/60681-Windows-7-SP1-Media-Refresh-Download-Links]Windows 7 SP1 Media Refresh Download Links(link removed 'cuz I don't have enough posts, dammit), installed it via the UEFI/GPT method, and it installed just fine. However, my mistake may have been to plug in a key found in another thread *during install*, and ever since it won't activate, giving me first "you are not activated", and then "error 0xc004e003 key already in use", after a couple of alternative key tries.

    As far as I can tell, this laptop does NOT have SLIC: any attempts to inject the key/OEM code via elevated cmd just fail; running SLIC Toolkit returns a "Dump Error (SLIC Table Not Found!)" message.

    I've looked all over looking for solutions, and tried a few from here, the ROG forums, and other places (recommended here and elsewhere), and NOTHING is working. At the moment, my eyes are crossing, my ears are smoking, and I think I'm getting a rash in an unmentionable place. :-(

    I *know* the minds here at MDL can come up with a solution (if one hasn't already been found that I couldn't find due to piss-poor google-fu). And I do appreciate y'all's time and efforts!

    Thanks in advance!

    Tex

  2. #2
    MDL BIOS/EFI Guru
    Join Date
    23 Feb 2010
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    15,732
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tex Arcana View Post
    Okay, let's get the "yer stupid!","dummy!","RTFM!","RTFT!" comments out of the way...

    ...There! :-)


    Now to the gist of the problem:

    I got this very nice laptop from a friend a couple years ago, preloaded with Win8. HATE Win8. Couldn't even get it to restore to OEM (friend deleted the partition somehow). KInda lived with it for awhile. Decided recently I had no real need for it anymore, so I'm selling it to another friend who's in dire need of a replacement laptop; but he will NOT use anything above Win7. I, confident in my ability to install W7 with Daz (successfully on a couple of my own machines), figured it would be a simple process...

    ...NOT. :-/ My old copy of Win7 (from this forum) with Daz wouldn't even boot, lovely BSOD.

    So, with help from y'all and the Asus ROG forums, I managed to do it. I had to download a new version of Win7+SP1, from the forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/60681-Windows-7-SP1-Media-Refresh-Download-Links]Windows 7 SP1 Media Refresh Download Links(link removed 'cuz I don't have enough posts, dammit), installed it via the UEFI/GPT method, and it installed just fine. However, my mistake may have been to plug in a key found in another thread *during install*, and ever since it won't activate, giving me first "you are not activated", and then "error 0xc004e003 key already in use", after a couple of alternative key tries.

    As far as I can tell, this laptop does NOT have SLIC: any attempts to inject the key/OEM code via elevated cmd just fail; running SLIC Toolkit returns a "Dump Error (SLIC Table Not Found!)" message.

    I've looked all over looking for solutions, and tried a few from here, the ROG forums, and other places (recommended here and elsewhere), and NOTHING is working. At the moment, my eyes are crossing, my ears are smoking, and I think I'm getting a rash in an unmentionable place. :-(

    I *know* the minds here at MDL can come up with a solution (if one hasn't already been found that I couldn't find due to piss-poor google-fu). And I do appreciate y'all's time and efforts!

    Thanks in advance!

    Tex
    How to properly request for a bios mod

  3. #3
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Sorry, but I didn't exactly request a bios mod. Honestly, I'd rather not go that route, because of the risk. Besides, everything I've seen tells me that I do *not* have a SLIC BIOS, which *should* obviate the need for a bios mod... shouldn't it??

  4. #4
    Super Mod / Adviser Tito's Avatar
    Join Date
    01 Dec 2009
    Location
    NIT DGP, India
    Posts
    16,897
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tex Arcana View Post
    Sorry, but I didn't exactly request a bios mod. Honestly, I'd rather not go that route, because of the risk. Besides, everything I've seen tells me that I do *not* have a SLIC BIOS, which *should* obviate the need for a bios mod... shouldn't it??
    Calm down & see this thread. A SLIC modded bios is the easiest solution in your current scenario.

  5. #5
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Information

  6. #6
    MDL Novice
    Join Date
    15 Feb 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Problem fixed, thanks to Serg008 and a BIO mod. Thanks, bro, and everyone else on here for y'alls time and efforts!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18 Oct 2014, 08:47
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07 Jul 2014, 01:23
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17 May 2014, 13:57
  4. [SOLVED]"Downgrade" Win 8 Dell laptop to Win7
    By Ren3gade in forum Windows 8
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11 Jan 2014, 23:34
  5. I Can't Downgrade my Asus Notebook Bios
    By autobengal in forum Windows Vista
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15 Nov 2008, 21:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •