PDA

View Full Version : This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

Mille77
16 Aug 2009, 21:14
Many thanks. Everything is now ok and now i have a slic tab and slic2.1 version. Many, many thanks!!!! Great.

ckv
16 Aug 2009, 21:50
hi,

anyone knows YET.

That i didn't understand. Has the 6710b been given up? And why?

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 22:03
HOW TO INCREASE VERBOSITY OF THE LOG FILE OF HPQFlash.exe VERSION 4.30.4.1

IN HPQFlash.exe

Search string 0F8453010000 And replace by 909090909090
Search string 0F8485010000 And replace by 909090909090

Save and close.



================For those interested by the code=========================

FlashDLL_4.30.4.1.exe

40C2F0 sub_40C2F0 proc near
40C2F0
40C2F0
40C2F0 SystemTime = _SYSTEMTIME ptr -62Ch
40C2F0 var_61C = word ptr -61Ch
40C2F0 var_61A = byte ptr -61Ah
40C2F0 String = word ptr -414h
40C2F0 var_412 = byte ptr -412h
40C2F0 var_4 = dword ptr -4
40C2F0 arg_0 = dword ptr 4
40C2F0 arg_4 = byte ptr 8
40C2F0
40C2F0 sub esp, 62Ch
40C2F6 mov eax, dword_44C000
40C2FB xor eax, esp
40C2FD mov [esp+62Ch+var_4], eax
40C304 cmp dword_44D5A0, 0
40C30B jz loc_40C464 -----> 6 NOP's (increase verbosity)
40C311 push esi
40C312 push edi
40C313 xor eax, eax
40C315 push 206h
40C31A push eax


FlashDLL_4.30.4.1.dll


2B000 sub_1002BC00 proc near ; CODE XREF: sub_10028C60+2D3p
2B000
2B000
2B000 var_334 = dword ptr -334h
2B000 String = byte ptr -330h
2B000 var_32F = byte ptr -32Fh
2B000 SystemTime = _SYSTEMTIME ptr -124h
2B000 var_114 = dword ptr -114h
2B000 var_110 = byte ptr -110h
2B000 var_10F = byte ptr -10Fh
2B000 var_4 = dword ptr -4
2B000 arg_0 = dword ptr 8
2B000 arg_4 = byte ptr 0Ch
2B000
2B000 push ebp
2B001 mov ebp, esp
2B003 sub esp, 334h
2B009 mov eax, dword_1004CB6C
2B00E xor eax, ebp
2B010 mov [ebp+var_4], eax
2B013 cmp dword_10050C04, 0
2B01A jz loc_1002BDA5 -----> 6 NOP's (increase verbosity)
2B020 mov [ebp+var_110], 0
2B027 push 103h
2B02C push 0
2B02E lea eax, [ebp+var_10F]
2B034 push eax
2B035 call sub_10011E30


good week end

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 23:40
That i didn't understand. Has the 6710b been given up? And why?
hi,

We don't know how to mod this kind of BIOS for the moment.

cali310
16 Aug 2009, 23:47
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckv View Post
That i didn't understand. Has the 6710b been given up? And why?
hi,

We don't know how to mod this kind of BIOS for the moment.

Can I assume the same for the 6510b?

Nevermind. They both use the same bios so the answer is obviously yes.

Oizopower
17 Aug 2009, 03:55
yes is working perfectly with this act*vator version
"7Loader_By_Orbit30_&_Hazar_v1.2.exe"

but,what else do you know about this soft reset problem on the HP DC7100?

This problem happened to me on Windows Vista , But with windows 7 its gone now. Dont know what caused it or something. I had it all the time on Vista but now in Windows 7 its not accuiring anymore

Goot
17 Aug 2009, 08:11
Hi,

Been reading the thread with interest. You seem to be making good progress with some BIOS, especially laptops :) Just wondering whether any progress had been made with desktops, in particular HP dc7700:-

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showthread.php?p=96709&highlight=dc7700#post96709

I believe Yen had a quick look at my request before starting this HP-Phoenix Bios thread.

I had a play around with a couple of suggestions made to others, but had no joy as yet. If you want me to test anything let me know.

Goot :)

p4spooky
17 Aug 2009, 09:10
You need to login to view this posts content.

Hotpepper
17 Aug 2009, 13:33
Here' the log file of my flash with newest BIOS and patched HPQFlash.

Hotpepper.

TTAV134
17 Aug 2009, 13:49
You need to login to view this posts content.

szalajko
17 Aug 2009, 14:01
You need to login to view this posts content.

pezzonovante
17 Aug 2009, 15:06
You need to login to view this posts content.

andmail
17 Aug 2009, 15:25
You need to login to view this posts content.

pezzonovante
17 Aug 2009, 16:14
Hi
Please, read this (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showthread.php?p=111512#post111512), this (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=111622&postcount=302) and this (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showthread.php?p=111739#post111739).

Thank you very much for your reply. But the solution sounded really scary for me. The guy in that post had a free-dos based HP Mini 2140. Mine came with XP Home Edition. So maybe there is a possibility that I won't have to go through all that trouble?

TTAV134
17 Aug 2009, 16:38
You need to login to view this posts content.

bluemoon
17 Aug 2009, 22:46
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
17 Aug 2009, 22:54
You need to login to view this posts content.

Midnight)sky
17 Aug 2009, 23:01
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
17 Aug 2009, 23:12
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 00:38
You need to login to view this posts content.

pezzonovante
18 Aug 2009, 01:07
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 01:55
You need to login to view this posts content.

benschngit
18 Aug 2009, 01:56
TTAV134,

I tried the new HPQFlash with the BIN file modded by Yen. I rebuilt the rom.cab and flashed it to my 8710w. After reboot it still showed SLIC2.0. Here is the log file.

andmail
18 Aug 2009, 02:06
You need to login to view this posts content.

Mindmaster
18 Aug 2009, 02:46
Thank you for the modded HP 530 Bios. On this way i mod it further and change the whitelist to work with the Intel 4965AGN wifi-card.

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 03:04
Thank you for the modded HP 530 Bios. On this way i mod it further and change the whitelist to work with the Intel 4965AGN wifi-card.
hi,

Happy to help you, can you make a tuto concerning the whitelist mod with the Intel 4965AGN wifi-card on HP530. Could be interesting for all readers of this thread.

regards

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 03:12
You need to login to view this posts content.

sebus
18 Aug 2009, 03:48
You need to login to view this posts content.

Goot
18 Aug 2009, 03:59
any progress had been made with desktops, in particular HP dc7700:-

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showthread.php?p=96709&highlight=dc7700#post96709

Can anyone tell me if I have 2 SLIC table BIOS (dc7700)? I've got mixed reports from our Chinese friends (well, from what I can translate!) and from my own research. I'm probably going about it all wrong! URL Link points to my original post on Phoenix BIOS thread, complete with BIOS, Rw everything report. I'm going to have another (novice) play with some of the laptop orientated suggestions, will they work? Or are we looking at a totally new ball game for desktops? Any suggestions and pointers welcome :)

sebus
18 Aug 2009, 04:06
Did you check with the tool:

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showthread.php?t=6925

sebus

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 04:20
You need to login to view this posts content.

pic_whizz
18 Aug 2009, 04:31
You need to login to view this posts content.

sebus
18 Aug 2009, 04:32
TTAV134, yes I tried this version as well, the ONLY version that works for 6715b is the one from sp36583.exe (and only with rom.cab from it)
Anything else I get:

Unable to read BIOS information from CAB file

sebus

benschngit
18 Aug 2009, 04:37
TTAV134, yes I tried this version as well, the ONLY version that works for 6715b is the one from sp36583.exe (and only with rom.cab from it)
Anything else I get:

Unable to read BIOS information from CAB file

sebus

I was getting this error too at first. I un-cabbed the original Rom.cab, copied in my new .bin file and re-cabbed it including the other files from the original cab. Then those errors went away.

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 04:49
Can anyone tell me if I have 2 SLIC table BIOS (dc7700)? I've got mixed reports from our Chinese friends (well, from what I can translate!) and from my own research. I'm probably going about it all wrong! URL Link points to my original post on Phoenix BIOS thread, complete with BIOS, Rw everything report. I'm going to have another (novice) play with some of the laptop orientated suggestions, will they work? Or are we looking at a totally new ball game for desktops? Any suggestions and pointers welcome :)
hi,

have you any idea of brand of the bios or the flashing tool.

regards

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 04:52
I was getting this error too at first. I un-cabbed the original Rom.cab, copied in my new .bin file and re-cabbed it including the other files from the original cab. Then those errors went away.
well done!

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 05:01
Just wanted to say a big Thanks!!

My nx7300 is now SLIC2.1 and activated!

Have also checked using SLIC Dump - appears RSDT is "!=" but activated ok.


:)
hi pic_whizz,

Happy for you, I would like to publish a bios mod for this machine but i dont find any NX7300 on HP site.
Could you provide the link for the original bios.

regards, and thanks for the report.

pic_whizz
18 Aug 2009, 05:11
You need to login to view this posts content.

pic_whizz
18 Aug 2009, 05:13
I've also got a NC6120 but this does not contain any SLIC info according to SLIC Dump!

Is there a way to mod the bios on this laptop?

Cheers,

Pic_Whizz

assos
18 Aug 2009, 05:27
After bios modded twice with two different bios, the second was succesfull,my machine (hp laptop dv6000 series) has 2 tables named APIC.The 1st CREATOR ID is "LOHR" and the 2nd CREATOR ID is "LTP".In dual boot (Vista & W7) when I try to enter in W7 I have blue screen. Please any help.
Sorry for my bad English.
Thank you in advance.

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 05:46
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 05:53
I've also got a NC6120 but this does not contain any SLIC info according to SLIC Dump!

Is there a way to mod the bios on this laptop?

Cheers,

Pic_Whizz
hi,

Pretty old machine isn't it. SLIC table appears for Windows vista.
Any way, have a look here (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=111622&postcount=302).

sebus
18 Aug 2009, 06:02
I was getting this error too at first. I un-cabbed the original Rom.cab, copied in my new .bin file and re-cabbed it including the other files from the original cab. Then those errors went away.

True! HPQFlash seems to read version only from ver.txt, hence it was complaing as my cab did not contain it

_ROM_ 68YTT v0F.0E 01/31/2008
0x00000000 0x00010000
0x000F0000 0x00010000

Once cab was redone hpqflash worked "fine"

But sadly still only slic 2.0 (and RSDT HP 0944 != Pubkey==Marker)

Log attached

sebus

pic_whizz
18 Aug 2009, 06:04
Thanks Tav,

Yes the NC6120 is quite old but still runs XP very well and so I think 7 will run run great!

Will the DMI Tools write SLIC info or does it just enable the SLIC on laptops that have the table disabled?

Cheers,

Pic_Whizz

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 06:11
Thanks Tav,

Yes the NC6120 is quite old but still runs XP very well and so I think 7 will run run great!

Will the DMI Tools write SLIC info or does it just enable the SLIC on laptops that have the table disabled?

Cheers,

Pic_Whizz
hi,

No miracles for tonight, DMI Tools just enable the SLIC on laptops that have the table disabled.

sorry

TTAV134
18 Aug 2009, 06:17
True! HPQFlash seems to read version only from ver.txt, hence it was complaing as my cab did not contain it

_ROM_ 68YTT v0F.0E 01/31/2008
0x00000000 0x00010000
0x000F0000 0x00010000

Once cab was redone hpqflash worked "fine"

But sadly still only slic 2.0 (and RSDT HP 0944 != Pubkey==Marker)

Log attached

sebus
SEBUS,

we have the tool but infortunately we dont know how to force the "protected zone" to be flahed.
May be an idea will come soon.

pezzonovante
18 Aug 2009, 14:07
Many many thanks to TTAV134 and others. At last I have been able to activate my HP Mini 2140. In the last two weeks I had tried every single activator on the planet and failed. Now I have updated my BIOS to the latest version and it had SLIC 2.1 built-in. So all I had to do was to use the OPA tool and Windows was activated without any problems.

naseap
18 Aug 2009, 20:03
Does the HP bios sp44198 for an HP laptop 6735s already have a 2.1 slic. I asked before but did not get a confirmation. It is my friends laptop and I don't want to flash the bios unless I know first. Thanks.

Machi007
18 Aug 2009, 20:28
You need to login to view this posts content.

Machi007
18 Aug 2009, 20:57
You need to login to view this posts content.