PDA

View Full Version : This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

TTAV134
15 Aug 2009, 00:44
You need to login to view this posts content.

kdh812
15 Aug 2009, 01:37
Hi, TTAV134
Wow~ Finally, I made it!
Thans a lot!

I got HPBI103.EXE and HPBI108.EXE in a chinese web site.
When try HPBI108.EXE first, I got an error message 'not supported machine.'

I launched the command 'hpbi103 read slp', it said 'SLP : disabled'
So, I typed 'hpbi103 write slp on'.
Finally, SLP state was changed to enabled!
But there is no SLIC table as ever after first reboot.

So I flash the latest bios one more time.
After flash, my laptop has SLIC 2.1 table finally!

TTAV134
15 Aug 2009, 01:42
Hi, TTAV134
Wow~ Finally, I made it!
Thans a lot!

I got HPBI103.EXE and HPBI108.EXE in a chinese web site.
When try HPBI108.EXE first, I got an error message 'not supported machine.'

I launched the command 'hpbi103 read slp', it said 'SLP : disabled'
So, I typed 'hpbi103 write slp on'.
Finally, SLP state was changed to enabled!
But there is no SLIC table as ever after first reboot.

So I flash the latest bios one more time.
After flash, my laptop has SLIC 2.1 table finally!
hi

So i've got a glass of beer

Yen
15 Aug 2009, 02:06
hi

So i've got a glass of beer

Cheers!:D

Do you think the peoples with SLIC2.0 can disable the SLP, flash the original 2.0 containing bios, enable it again and flash a modded one with the direct memory edit method / or patched rompaq to get even a SLIC2.1???:eek::)
IMO it worth to try it could really work!!!

benschngit
15 Aug 2009, 02:34
I have an 8710w, I'll try that method now. Currently I have SLP enabled, I'll turn it off, flash original 2.0 BIOS, then turn it on, then flash modded bin with direct memory patch method...i'll report when i'm done.

benschngit
15 Aug 2009, 02:58
Nope, still SLIC 2.0...

TTAV134
15 Aug 2009, 06:00
Hi,

Method for a HP BIOS RECOVERY:

Prerequisite:
The BIOS recovery procedure requires a USB diskette drive and a formatted diskette.
USB pen ----> doesn't work

Download you BIOS from HP, please note the model 68xxx

Copy the bin file of the BIOS on the diskette. eg:68YHV.BIN and not ROM.BIN

Press the 4 harrow keys (up, down, right, left) on the keyboard and power ON.

Wait ~2, 3 seconds an release the keys.

Wait the end of the process ( 2 minutes)

deson
15 Aug 2009, 07:18
You need to login to view this posts content.

jiriteach
15 Aug 2009, 13:32
Hi,

Method for a HP BIOS RECOVERY:

On a non bootable floppy disk copy the bin file of the BIOS only.

Press the 4 harrow keys and power ON.
Wait ~2, 3 seconds an release the keys.

Wait the end of the process ( 2 minutes)

I've apply this method for trying to update my 6910p ( double slic table) in SLIC2.1, but still 2.0

Anyway the bios recovery works.

Will this work for USB keys as well? If I ever needed to do this, my laptop 8710w don't have a floppy drive :)

TTAV134
15 Aug 2009, 14:01
Will this work for USB keys as well? If I ever needed to do this, my laptop 8710w don't have a floppy drive :)
hi,

Y've just to try.

regards

acidrock
15 Aug 2009, 14:41
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
15 Aug 2009, 15:07
You need to login to view this posts content.

andmail
15 Aug 2009, 16:45
You need to login to view this posts content.

luxury54
15 Aug 2009, 17:43
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
15 Aug 2009, 18:20
You need to login to view this posts content.

merrykid
15 Aug 2009, 18:39
Hi,

Method for a HP BIOS RECOVERY:

You must have an USB Floppy drive.

On a non bootable floppy disk copy the bin file of the BIOS only.

Press the 4 harrow keys and power ON.
Wait ~2, 3 seconds an release the keys.

Wait the end of the process ( 2 minutes)

I've apply this method for trying to update my 6910p ( double slic table) in SLIC2.1, but still 2.0

Anyway the bios recovery works.

note: I've made a test with an USB pen ----> doesn't work

What is 4 harrow keys ?

I'm using 2710p,also want to undate to slic2.1.

Oizopower
15 Aug 2009, 18:41
You need to login to view this posts content.

andmail
15 Aug 2009, 18:54
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
15 Aug 2009, 19:18
What is 4 harrow keys ?

I'm using 2710p,also want to undate to slic2.1.
hi,

Have a look on your keyboard, i'm sure you will find theses 4 harrows

I give you a hint, look on right.

by

DAPBENJAMIN
15 Aug 2009, 19:43
hi,

Have a look on your keyboard, i'm sure you will find theses 4 harrows

I give you a hint, look on right.

by
Hi,

Then look left, right, up and down :-)

Darren

luxury54
15 Aug 2009, 21:57
So you are saying that on the 7100 the act***tor is working without modified bios? only the knows soft reset problem again?

yes is working perfectly with this activator version
"7Loader_By_Orbit30_&_Hazar_v1.2.exe"

but,what else do you know about this soft reset problem on the HP DC7100?

andmail
15 Aug 2009, 22:34
You need to login to view this posts content.

gregg
16 Aug 2009, 00:20
You need to login to view this posts content.

Yen
16 Aug 2009, 00:41
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 00:43
You need to login to view this posts content.

Hotpepper
16 Aug 2009, 00:57
Here's another input:

I've checked the BIOS update of my new notebook (8530p) when it got the SLIC 2.1. The first interesting thing is, both updates (old and new) use the same HPQFlash. There are some difference in Ver.txt but the areas defined there have nothing to do with SLIC position.

The second interesting thing is, that in the case of model 8530p the SLIC table moves position. It does not remain on the position of version 2.0 SLIC.

So but the most important thing is, that I thought about use cases. Let's imagine there are 10 BIOS versions for a specific notebook. Version 8 introduces a SLIC update to 2.1. So now a customer wants to update from version 1 to version 10. Then also the SLIC has to be updated.

So there must be a switch in the BIOS image itself that tells the flasher or somethings else that SLIC update is ok.

jordan.turner1974
16 Aug 2009, 01:06
YEN,

Here is a list of moded bios ready to be publish.

HP520 Notebook PC
HP530 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nc6400 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nc6320 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nx6310 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nx6320 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nx6315 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nx6325 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nx9420 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nc8430 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nx8420 Notebook PC
HP Compaq nw9440 Mobile Workstation
HP Compaq nw8440 Mobile Workstation

What do you suggest, posting in this thread or in an other place.

regards

Hi, was there a one-click installs on these or did I misread - the HP530 in particular? Thanks.

johnsonlau
16 Aug 2009, 01:23
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 01:26
Hi, was there a one-click installs on these or did I misread - the HP530 in particular? Thanks.
hi,

I'am a bit busy but i will post it to night. I'll PM you once publihed.

You will just have to open the archive, launch HPQFlash and follow intructions (next, next)
3 clicks :D

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 01:33
I've confirmed that this works on my HP Compaq nx6330 Notebook.
Thank god, it finally got activated.
Hi,

Have a look HERE (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=112766&postcount=382).:D and HERE (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=111460&postcount=290)

regards

ckv
16 Aug 2009, 02:47
Hi,

Have a look HERE (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=112766&postcount=382).:D

I will now inform readers that they can download a bios mod.

regards

How do i do it then, on a 6710b ?

andmail
16 Aug 2009, 02:47
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 03:56
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 06:21
How do i do it then, on a 6710b ?
hi,

We dont know how to mod this bios

sorry

TassieToo
16 Aug 2009, 07:13
Hi,

Have a look HERE (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=112766&postcount=382).:D and HERE (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=111460&postcount=290)

regards

Thanks, worked perfectly on the nx6310. :)

Can this also be done for the nx7300, or is that one of the difficult ones?

jordan.turner1974
16 Aug 2009, 07:17
TTAV134 - THANK YOU :D. SLIC 2.1 changed and verified for HP530. I'm surpised noone else could handle this for awhile.

jiriteach
16 Aug 2009, 09:12
You need to login to view this posts content.

Hotpepper
16 Aug 2009, 14:32
Hi,

I loaded HPQFlash but did not flash it at the moment because the newest BIOS uses a even newer HPQFlash. Also this type of BIOS is EFI.

Interesting is, that it says something that this model is not from 2007 and so there is no need to check for boot block update. Did anyone look into that function of HPQFlash?


08/16/2009 08:19:44.971 Check if system has legacy BIOS
08/16/2009 08:19:44.989 IsBIOS2007andOlder(): failed: hr = 0x00000000, dwRetCode = 0x00000004
08/16/2009 08:19:44.990 Exit IsBIOS2007andOlder, bIsBIOS2007andOlder= 0, bStatus = 1


08/16/2009 08:19:49.348 Enter CheckBootBlockUpdate.
08/16/2009 08:19:49.348 CheckBootBlockUpdate: don't need to check, not a 2007 product
08/16/2009 08:19:49.348 Exit CheckBootBlockUpdate, bStatus = 1


Hotpepper.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 15:17
Hi,

I loaded HPQFlash but did not flash it at the moment because the newest BIOS uses a even newer HPQFlash. Also this type of BIOS is EFI.

Interesting is, that it says something that this model is not from 2007 and so there is no need to check for boot block update. Did anyone look into that function of HPQFlash?


08/16/2009 08:19:44.971 Check if system has legacy BIOS
08/16/2009 08:19:44.989 IsBIOS2007andOlder(): failed: hr = 0x00000000, dwRetCode = 0x00000004
08/16/2009 08:19:44.990 Exit IsBIOS2007andOlder, bIsBIOS2007andOlder= 0, bStatus = 1


08/16/2009 08:19:49.348 Enter CheckBootBlockUpdate.
08/16/2009 08:19:49.348 CheckBootBlockUpdate: don't need to check, not a 2007 product
08/16/2009 08:19:49.348 Exit CheckBootBlockUpdate, bStatus = 1


Hotpepper.
hi,

What's your original HPQFLash version, and from witch bios have you extract it. I will patch it.

regards

Hotpepper
16 Aug 2009, 15:37
You need to login to view this posts content.

Shimmy420
16 Aug 2009, 16:49
i really want windows 7 on my comp so can someone please mod my bio

it's a HP-sp44656


h**p://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=ob-73553-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=3979083&os=2100&lang=en

andmail
16 Aug 2009, 16:56
i really want windows 7 on my comp so can someone please mod my bio

it's a HP-sp44656


h**p://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=ob-73553-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=3979083&os=2100&lang=en

This is Insyde (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showthread.php?t=7470) BIOS

aristo
16 Aug 2009, 18:11
Hi guys..

I also have HP 8710p Notebook.
is anybody still working on the problem or is everybody given up?

ckv
16 Aug 2009, 18:43
hi,

We dont know how to mod this bios

sorry

Has it been given up? - Or doesn't anyone know YET? :-)

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 19:44
Has it been given up? - Or doesn't anyone know YET? :-)
hi,

anyone knows YET.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 19:47
Hi guys..

I also have HP 8710p Notebook.
is anybody still working on the problem or is everybody given up?
hi,

trust me and have a look around, we are working on this subject.

have a good week end also.

andmail
16 Aug 2009, 19:56
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 20:29
You need to login to view this posts content.

Mille77
16 Aug 2009, 20:55
Hello, i have a problem with my hp 6730b. Somebody write down, that in the actual bios version Slic 2.1 is included.
I update the bios and the only thing i found RW-Everything is the tab RSDT with this information.

Root System Description Table: 0xB9FFE0AC
52 53 44 54 54 00 00 00 01 25 48 50 51 4F 45 4D RSDTT....%HPQOEM
53 4C 49 43 2D 4D 50 43 0F 00 00 00 20 20 20 20 SLIC-MPC....
13 00 00 01 00 C0 FF B9 00 B0 FF B9 00 A0 FF B9 ................
00 90 FF B9 00 80 FF B9 00 70 FF B9 00 A0 FD B9 .........p......
00 80 FD B9 00 70 FD B9 00 60 FD B9 00 50 FD B9 .....p...`...P..
00 40 FD B9 .@..

Signature "RSDT"
Length 0x00000054 (84)
Revision 0x01 (1)
Checksum 0x25 (37)
OEM ID "HPQOEM"
OEM Table ID "SLIC-MPC"
OEM Revision 0x0000000F (15)
Creator ID " "
Creator Revision 0x01000013 (16777235)
Entry0 0xB9FFC000
Entry1 0xB9FFB000
Entry2 0xB9FFA000
Entry3 0xB9FF9000
Entry4 0xB9FF8000
Entry5 0xB9FF7000
Entry6 0xB9FDA000
Entry7 0xB9FD8000
Entry8 0xB9FD7000
Entry9 0xB9FD6000
Entry10 0xB9FD5000
Entry11 0xB9FD4000


I have no tab "Slic". Is my Notebook Slic 2.1 ready or not. Which Bios Version for the 6730B is Slic 2.1 ready?
Many thanks for the help.

TTAV134
16 Aug 2009, 21:02
Hello, i have a problem with my hp 6730b. Somebody write down, that in the actual bios version Slic 2.1 is included.
I update the bios and the only thing i found RW-Everything is the tab RSDT with this information.

Root System Description Table: 0xB9FFE0AC
52 53 44 54 54 00 00 00 01 25 48 50 51 4F 45 4D RSDTT....%HPQOEM
53 4C 49 43 2D 4D 50 43 0F 00 00 00 20 20 20 20 SLIC-MPC....
13 00 00 01 00 C0 FF B9 00 B0 FF B9 00 A0 FF B9 ................
00 90 FF B9 00 80 FF B9 00 70 FF B9 00 A0 FD B9 .........p......
00 80 FD B9 00 70 FD B9 00 60 FD B9 00 50 FD B9 .....p...`...P..
00 40 FD B9 .@..

Signature "RSDT"
Length 0x00000054 (84)
Revision 0x01 (1)
Checksum 0x25 (37)
OEM ID "HPQOEM"
OEM Table ID "SLIC-MPC"
OEM Revision 0x0000000F (15)
Creator ID " "
Creator Revision 0x01000013 (16777235)
Entry0 0xB9FFC000
Entry1 0xB9FFB000
Entry2 0xB9FFA000
Entry3 0xB9FF9000
Entry4 0xB9FF8000
Entry5 0xB9FF7000
Entry6 0xB9FDA000
Entry7 0xB9FD8000
Entry8 0xB9FD7000
Entry9 0xB9FD6000
Entry10 0xB9FD5000
Entry11 0xB9FD4000


I have no tab "Slic". Is my Notebook Slic 2.1 ready or not. Which Bios Version for the 6730B is Slic 2.1 ready?
Many thanks for the help.
hi,

If you have no SLIC table I think this method (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/showpost.php?p=111622&postcount=302) will help you.

please report