PDA

View Full Version : This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

TTAV134
28 Dec 2010, 22:18
@sk0rpi0n
I thought you have a dedicated thread for this!

JeanYuhs
29 Dec 2010, 04:38
Surely it can't be that difficult - someone said the HPBI103.exe as well as the HPDMIFIT utility (or part of that utility set since it has many different tools) can handle the password reset/clear but, I simply don't see that option anywhere. It's not one of the standard available commands and doesn't seem to be one of the hidden ones the patched versions allows me to access so, again, I'm stumped.

Tried using the Windows based Security Tools as well as the BIOS Configuration Utility but of course they ask for a password and that's where I am continually stuck. :(

nando4
29 Dec 2010, 08:44
You need to login to view this posts content.

sebus
29 Dec 2010, 17:30
Surely it can't be that difficult

Surely it can, what would be the point of a password otherwise? It is not like Windows local login password...


sebus

sk0rpi0n
29 Dec 2010, 17:56
@TTAV134

Yes it's true, but noone answered me! :(

phu_dj
29 Dec 2010, 21:06
move request

tcntad
30 Dec 2010, 00:14
This did not work for me (HP Compaq 6715b), nothing happens. Is there another way (tried WIN-B, no result)

Whats not working?

JeanYuhs
30 Dec 2010, 05:29
My point with the "Surely it can't be that difficult" comment was in respect to me being told "oh just use the HPDMIFIT tool or the HPBI103 tool..." comment that was offered, not the fact that the password is difficult to remove in the first place. If people don't have 100% confirmed knowledge or answers for a given question, it seems logical that they shouldn't offer anything at all instead of saying "oh just do this, it should work..." based on experience with other machines/BIOSes/hardware, etc. I provided specific info, model number, etc and was given a "oh, just use this..." type of response.

Not a big deal I suppose - I do have full use of the machine, I just can't update the BIOS (because it requires a password to do so) and I can't change the Setup options (because it requires a password to do so). I'll live.

nando4
30 Dec 2010, 09:26
You need to login to view this posts content.

tamarinde
05 Jan 2011, 20:56
Something that was long overdue, the WLAN/WWAN whitelist removal .
No more error 104 or 105.


Can I test the 2730p whitelist mod to see if it works

tamarinde
06 Jan 2011, 00:49
You need to login to view this posts content.

TTAV134
06 Jan 2011, 01:27
You need to login to view this posts content.

tamarinde
06 Jan 2011, 03:27
You need to login to view this posts content.

nando4
06 Jan 2011, 05:21
Mod works perfectly for the first pci slot.
Is it possible to unlock the 2nd slot or is the hardware limited to wwan?

The second slot is a WWAN slot with only the USB pins connected. Try a non-HP WWAN card, eg: MC8781 or UN2420 to confirm it's been unwhitelisted OK as well.

tamarinde
06 Jan 2011, 06:43
The second slot is a WWAN slot with only the USB pins connected. Try a non-HP WWAN card, eg: MC8781 or UN2420 to confirm it's been unwhitelisted OK as well.

Just tested an un2400 and it worked but thats the standard card for this laptop anyway, no other ones im afraid (un2420 is still on my wishlist).
But I was able to change the WLAN card so at least that whitelist is disabled.

seansean
11 Jan 2011, 02:47
is whitelist removal ready for nx6325 ?

thx...

TTAV134
12 Jan 2011, 01:29
You need to login to view this posts content.

seansean
12 Jan 2011, 12:20
working good ... thx ...

Relay
13 Jan 2011, 00:10
Dear HP BIOS modders!

I recently found this forum in hope of fixing my 104 problem. While reading this very long thread I actually became interested in bios modding myself. I own a HP Compaq nx6110 that seems to have a HP SMBIOS v2.3 according to dmidecode. I actually updated the bios with the latest from HP website, but that did not remove the WiFi checks. I guess the only opton left is to manually mod the bios. I'd also like to see what other junk lurks inside. While I don't have much experience with bios'es or flashing, I know my way around in hex editors and 32-bit disassemblers rather well.

Okay, so I managed to get my hands on the BIOS rom itself. While peeking through the binary code I noticed that most of the code seems to be compressed. What is the name of this compression algorithm??? And is there an (open source) packer and/or unpacker available for it? I searched the forum, but all I could find is a tool called ADDCC v3. It seems to unpack fine, but I don't see a way to repack.

sebus
13 Jan 2011, 00:49
Correct, there is NO compressor

nx6110 was no yet processed by TTAV134, but he might do that (if possible)

sebus

TTAV134
13 Jan 2011, 01:40
You need to login to view this posts content.

Relay
13 Jan 2011, 01:46
Neato, I'll check those out.

BTW, There's a pdf tutorial included in the ADDCC v3 package, but the document appears to be in a language that is far from what I would call English (no offense, but it was extremely difficult to follow in some parts). The most interesting part is the last one where the decompression algorithm is described. There is also a source code at the end that seems to be written in VisualBasic.NET, and it's only partial i.e. it's not a full program. Lucky me, I've programmed in VB before, so it was familiar to me, but it's rather messy though. After a while of trial and error in a hex editor I am pretty sure I now understand the decompression routine.

Does anybody mind, if I try to port this code to C/C++? And if there isn't a packer I guess it shouldn't be too hard to code one. The structure is really simple, so if everything else fails, we can still insert a FF byte in every 8th spot. :D

EDIT: TTAV134, what does that update do? Does it completely remove the whitelist?

Relay
13 Jan 2011, 01:59
Well haha! I was hoping to hack something myself, but oh well. Thanks for the effort though. :) I'll patch it as soon as I get a chance. I don't need SLIC though.
P.S. Would you mind explaining how you managed to locate the code that does the WiFi checks or perhaps point me to a document that does just that?

Thanks.

Relay
13 Jan 2011, 03:29
Confirmed! It works like a charm.

I managed to upload the bios with the windows flasher because the USB stick wouldn't boot for some reason... non-system disk error. Time to restore my linux and try out the new WiFi card.

Atheros godness, here I come!

spedia
14 Jan 2011, 16:20
Correct, there is NO compressor

nx6110 was no yet processed by TTAV134, but he might do that (if possible)

sebus


A decompressor routine, with no compressor routine. That's rather hard for me to fathom!

(That's the problem faced by the 6715b mod.)

Kim33
17 Jan 2011, 17:26
Hello.
I have found here ( forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681) renovation for BIOS ( DTA ) chip on HP Compaq nc6220, that to install new Wi-Fi card. But say please there is beside you (whitelist removed) for BIOS ( DTU ) chip on HP Compaq nc6220. Thank you.

TTAV134
17 Jan 2011, 17:36
Hello.
I have found here ( forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681) renovation for BIOS ( DTA ) chip on HP Compaq nc6220, that to install new Wi-Fi card. But say please there is beside you (whitelist removed) for BIOS ( DTU ) chip on HP Compaq nc6220. Thank you.
i dont understand your request, but have look here http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=333358&viewfull=1#post333358

Kim33
17 Jan 2011, 17:53
Yes, you right, I have found on your reference "whitelist removed" but he for chip family DTA in HP Copmaq nc6220

P.S. there is warning about discrepancy on page of the site: " This package creates files that contain a binary image of the System BIOS (ROM) for the supported notebook models with a 68DTU Family ROM. This package is used to flash the System ROM on target PCs on a network. It requires HP System Software Manager (SSM). NOTE: To determine the ROM family and ROM date, press F10 on the target notebook during startup to run the Setup Utility, and then view File/System Information. "

TTAV134
17 Jan 2011, 18:13
You need to login to view this posts content.

duc575757
18 Jan 2011, 13:41
HI EVERYBODY!

I read all the thread but I dont understand...

I want to add slic 2.1 to a HP DC5850 SFF

I try ADDCC, phoenixtool... But nothing work :(

Help me please! :(

Kim33
18 Jan 2011, 17:55
to TTAV134
"ok i understand,

NC6220 --> DTU family
NC6230 --> DTA family"
NC6220_sp35283_DTU_no_whitelist.zip

Yes!!! You are GENIUS!!! This works!!! - My HP Compaq nc6220 - no more "error 104"! :p - Thank you very much!!! -

TTAV134
18 Jan 2011, 19:37
HI EVERYBODY!

I read all the thread but I dont understand...

I want to add slic 2.1 to a HP DC5850 SFF

I try ADDCC, phoenixtool... But nothing work :(

Help me please! :(

If nobody did it before that's probably because it cannot be done.

zetitres
18 Jan 2011, 22:02
HI EVERYBODY!
I want to add slic 2.1 to a HP DC5850 SFF
Help me please! :(

This Bios serie (dc7700,dc5750, etc) can not be modded so far. You can monitor the thread waiting for a new tool, as i'm doing, or use a loader in the meanwhile something is developed. Donot waste your time searching in another forums, even chinese forums, as TTAV134 says this bios cannot be modded right now. Be back from time to time...who knows?

duc575757
20 Jan 2011, 13:56
Thank you for your answers!

I have just think that it's possible because I see the first post witch say that all BIOS can be moded...

I use now remotewat and wait a biosmodtool...

BYE

Relay
22 Jan 2011, 17:39
I have ported the ADDCC v3 unpacker routine from VB.NET to C language (gcc). I have also coded a new packer routine that can compress the data back to the format used in these HP Bios modules. The compression algorithm is related to LZ77 and more closely to LZSS. I have named it LZHP due to its use in HP bioses. While the preliminary results show that the packer routine works fine and that it can reach slightly better compression than the original, it still has to be tested inside an actual bios.

Please find the code here:
h t t p : / / w w w . m e d i a f i r e . c o m / ? 7 r w q w h 5 i s z y 3 0 y 3

Warning: This is beta code.

TTAV134
22 Jan 2011, 18:12
@relay,

nx6110 have an old bios structure which cannot be recover with a floppy, so if something goes wrong in your tests the only way is to remove the bios chip from motherboard and flash with a eeprom programmer.

Relay
22 Jan 2011, 18:20
Which is why I posted the code for others to test ;p The nx6110 bios is the only one I've worked with so far. How many bioses from HP actually use this compression method?

EDIT: Unfortunately I do not have any experience with programming an eeprom chip with a programmer. This is why I'd like to share the code with the rest of you where some of you may have worked with eeprom before, and you should be able to better test the code. Additionally, I decided to code this because there was no packer available according to some people, and coding one seemed an easy thing to do. The unpacker was already available, but the source code (addcc) is rather horrible VB.NET. On the end, I'd like to see a tool made to unpack the bios, allow the user to modify it and repack it into a working rom. If you find this code useful, let me know. This code works for "header version 2" modules only.

EDIT2: Also, TTAV134, would you please mind answering that private message I sent you a few days ago?

TTAV134
22 Jan 2011, 20:00
I've accidentally delete all my PM inbox.

Relay
24 Jan 2011, 02:13
Okay, I'll just ask here again as numerous people know more stuff. So let's sum this up. I recently became interested in bios modding myself. I've never modded a bios before, so I may not know a lot of stuff, but I'd like to ask for a few guidelines, and some insight to get started. I'll start with disassembling.


Is this HP nx6110 bios (decompressed) assembly 16-bit or 32-bit? What about other bioses in general?
Which disassembler(s) do you use or recommend to read bios assembly?
How many HP bioses are compressed with the algorithm from ADDCCv3 (or my C code)?
Do any of them use any other compression algorithms?
What checksum algorithms are also in use?


Hopefully someone can fill me in a bit.

Regards, Relay

xdp_wym816
24 Jan 2011, 03:04
Can anybody help me with my compaq nx6130 bios with whitelist removed.

nx6130 with ATI X300 , it was not listed in " Wlan/wwan whitelist removal ", i do need a bios with whitelist removed so that i can use my atheros 5414A with 108Mbps wireless card,any helpers i do appreciate your help , seed it to my email : xdp_wym816 @ sina . com 。 so much thanks !

TTAV134
24 Jan 2011, 03:40
You need to login to view this posts content.

xdp_wym816
24 Jan 2011, 05:36
HP Compaq nx6130 Notebook PC whitelist removed


thanks a lot , it works !

simploid
30 Jan 2011, 07:11
You need to login to view this posts content.

REMMAH
31 Jan 2011, 19:24
Can anybody help me with my HP Pavilion dv9695eg bios with whitelist removed?

-Manufacturer: HP Pavilion
-Model: HP Pavilion dv9695eg
-Bios Revision: F.5A 2010-04-05

Thank you very much!

TTAV134
31 Jan 2011, 21:48
Can anybody help me with my HP Pavilion dv9695eg bios with whitelist removed?

-Manufacturer: HP Pavilion
-Model: HP Pavilion dv9695eg
-Bios Revision: F.5A 2010-04-05

Thank you very much!

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/20223-Remove-whitelist-check-add-ID-s-to-break-hardware-restrictions-mod-requests.?p=359484&viewfull=1#post359484

REMMAH
01 Feb 2011, 19:10
Thanks a lot. It really helped.

pepito2
01 Feb 2011, 22:18
Any news whith the relay's packer?

It could open the way to new mods, at least for 6520s/6720s/6820s:


Change bios date, replace the vga bios whith a new one...


cu

murdemon
05 Feb 2011, 21:15
hello can you send it to me HP 425/625 Notebook PC (version F.03 13-aug-2010) whitelist removed - to dmitriy.murashov_gmail_com

murdemon
06 Feb 2011, 00:36
It is dosen't work (notebook 625(AMD V140) without HD.. flash it with erompaq.exe from DOS.. and with old version of HPQFlaser. After flashing just black screen and blink capslock.. with F06 from official it's work ok...

TTAV134
06 Feb 2011, 01:20
It is dosen't work (notebook 625(AMD V140) without HD.. flash it with erompaq.exe from DOS.. and with old version of HPQFlaser. After flashing just black screen and blink capslock.. with F06 from official it's work ok...

some models like probook are affect by this problem, i've removed it from the list.
Are you interesed by WLAN or by WWAN whitelist removal, i can make a new release with only one of them.