PDA

View Full Version : This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

TTAV134
10 Dec 2010, 18:37
@w_buffet

it is a non request place, and how many copy of this request have you made we can found it everywhere.

lxjinfo
10 Dec 2010, 20:25
我的型号是6910P独立ATI显卡的,用了你修改好的删除白名单和slic2.1的F19文件,刷新之后第一次进入系统可以发现WWAN卡,也可以正常使用,但是重启之后,或者关机重启之后就找不到,请问是什么原因

TTAV134
10 Dec 2010, 22:06
我的型号是6910P独立ATI显卡的,用了你修改好的删除白名单和slic2.1的F19文件,刷新之后第一次进入系统可以发现WWAN卡,也可以正常使用,但是重启之后,或者关机重启之后就找不到,请问是什么原因

cool,

Press F10 and reset bios to default, may solve the problem, in fact i don't know.

lxjinfo
11 Dec 2010, 08:34
cool,

Press F10 and reset bios to default, may solve the problem, in fact i don't know.

Press F10 and reset bios to default, the first time we can see that the WWAN card, and the second to enter the BIOS, see the

lxjinfo
11 Dec 2010, 14:49
cool,

Press F10 and reset bios to default, may solve the problem, in fact i don't know.

This situation seems to be white list still exists, in the BIOS file, HP set up a white list of alternate test

beargraduate
11 Dec 2010, 18:44
This is the best progress I have seen on modified bios. There has been a lot of crazy ideas of bypassing the white list issue with little success. I have tried experimenting with bios editing tools with minor success. Thanks for the expertise and help.

TTAV134
11 Dec 2010, 19:24
This is the best progress I have seen on modified bios. There has been a lot of crazy ideas of bypassing the white list issue with little success. I have tried experimenting with bios editing tools with minor success. Thanks for the expertise and help.

Thank's
and i'm now using this "whithelist removal" expertise for other brand/models.

nando4
13 Dec 2010, 09:13
You need to login to view this posts content.

tifosi_29
13 Dec 2010, 15:06
Hi TTAV134, I have a 2540p running original shipping BIOS (F.03 / 68CSU). Does your current approach to removing whitelist support the 2540p yet? I didnt see it in thread #1107. If so, can you send me BIOS & instructions?

Also, in preparation for issue during loading of new BIOS, does your note re: USB Key EFI BIOS Disaster Recovery apply to HP 2540p laptop? Or do I need to purchase USB Floppy drive?

Many thanks!

Regards, T

tifosi_29
13 Dec 2010, 15:20
Hi Nando, I currently have a 2540p that will NOT let me use my Sierra Wireless MC5725 (which did work via the whitelist on my 2510p). Kinda crazy since its a Sprint network device (i.e. CDMA2000) meaning there is no SIM, so the billing is device specific. "One" would think that by purchasing the mobile device (and paying for monthly service) I should be entitled to use it anywhere that it is feasibly support. I guess HP isnt "one".

T

TTAV134
13 Dec 2010, 15:38
Hi TTAV134, I have a 2540p running original shipping BIOS (F.03 / 68CSU). Does your current approach to removing whitelist support the 2540p yet? I didnt see it in thread #1107. If so, can you send me BIOS & instructions?

Also, in preparation for issue during loading of new BIOS, does your note re: USB Key EFI BIOS Disaster Recovery apply to HP 2540p laptop? Or do I need to purchase USB Floppy drive?

Many thanks!

Regards, T

A test had been done on this model, the bios does not support to be modified, that brick the laptop.

imodu
13 Dec 2010, 19:43
I was redirected here from appropriate section and I would appreciate any support updating SLIC 2.0 to 2.1 on HP xw8600 Workstation. Recently new BIOS 1.36 has been released. When i launch hpqflash.exe and try to edit the memory with HxD I am unable to find any expression beginning with HPQOEM. Maybe is the SLIC table elsewhere?

TTAV134
13 Dec 2010, 20:12
I was redirected here from appropriate section and I would appreciate any support updating SLIC 2.0 to 2.1 on HP xw8600 Workstation. Recently new BIOS 1.36 has been released. When i launch hpqflash.exe and try to edit the memory with HxD I am unable to find any expression beginning with HPQOEM. Maybe is the SLIC table elsewhere?

really no idea, sorry.

TTAV134
16 Dec 2010, 01:47
HP DMI TOOLS (15 Dec 2010)
A set of HP DMI tools, to change Serial number, Asset number, SKU, UUID, AMT, SLP etc..
HP DMI TOOLKIT (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=111460#post111460)

lxjinfo
17 Dec 2010, 13:36
cool,

Press F10 and reset bios to default, may solve the problem, in fact i don't know.

重启之后还是找不到wwan卡

我的型号是6910P独立ATI显卡的,用了你修改好的删除白名单和slic2.1的F19文件,刷新之后 第一次进入系统可以发现WWAN卡,也可以正常使用,但是重启之后,或者关机重启之后就找不到,请问是什么 原因

nando4
18 Dec 2010, 03:12
Chinese to English translation
Still can not find wwan card after reboot

My model is independent ATI graphics card 6910P, with the changes you delete the white list and slic2.1 good the F19 file and refresh the first time since entering the system can find WWAN card, you can normally use, but after a reboot, or shutdown restart After not find, what is the reason

I have found the same issue with my 2510P. Seems the bios does some other checks and if they fail, the USB/WWAN port isn't enabled. So far only HS2300 and UN2420 (Gobi-2000) work. GTM378 and MC8781 do not.

TTAV134
18 Dec 2010, 04:59
I have found the same issue with my 2510P. Seems the bios does some other checks and if they fail, the USB/WWAN port isn't enabled. So far only HS2300 and UN2420 (Gobi-2000) work. GTM378 and MC8781 do not.

is there some hardware differences between these cards, as power supply voltage, is it 3 volts also.
Do you have an error 105 with GTM378 or MC8781 when using an original (non patched) HP bios. does the card is correctly detected.
in attach file, the portion of bios where the WWAN card is tested, no mystery, no hidden white list.

7826

nando4
18 Dec 2010, 10:18
is there some hardware differences between these cards, as power supply voltage, is it 3 volts also.
Do you have an error 105 with GTM378 or MC8781 when using an original (non patched) HP bios. does the card is correctly detected.
in attach file, the portion of bios where the WWAN card is tested, no mystery, no hidden white list.]

No error with the MC8781. Presumably the bios disables (clobbers) the USB ports, then selectively enables them upon confirming a device checks out OK. Unusually, the radio LED would flash during bootup. I'm hoping to get my hands on another working WWAN card and try to compare PCI Configuration space to figure out how the USB port is being clobbered by the bios.

TTAV134
18 Dec 2010, 14:54
No error with the MC8781. Presumably the bios disables (clobbers) the USB ports, then selectively enables them upon confirming a device checks out OK. Unusually, the radio LED would flash during bootup. I'm hoping to get my hands on another working WWAN card and try to compare PCI Configuration space to figure out how the USB port is being clobbered by the bios.

That's confirm what i think, it's a hardware problem. The card is not detected.

lxjinfo
18 Dec 2010, 15:14
That's confirm what i think, it's a hardware problem. The card is not detected.

Installed, reinstall the battery, enter COMS can see the WWAN option, save and exit. the second time into COMS, then we do not see the WWAN option, and the symptoms before the white list, like, just do not Reported 105 errors,

ota1980
18 Dec 2010, 17:54
TTAV134,

can you give me link for HP probook 4520s bios slic 2.1 ? thanx in advance

TTAV134
18 Dec 2010, 18:41
You need to login to view this posts content.

lxjinfo
20 Dec 2010, 13:35
我的型号是6910P独立ATI显卡的,用了你修改好的删除白名单和slic2.1的F19文件,刷新之后第一次进入系统可以发现WWAN卡,也可以正常使用,但是重启之后,或者关机重启之后就找不到,请问是什么原因

Ladies and gentlemen, perhaps I found the problem: enter COMS, find the "Usb Device Detection Delay (Sec)" change 3 seconds.every time I now find,

sk0rpi0n
20 Dec 2010, 17:48
Hi all, guys!
I'm new here... I've a particular request for you (sorry for my english, I'm from Italy!).
I work as a system administrator / informatic technician in an IT technical assistance company, so please don't treat me as a beginner!
I tryied myself to bypass the BIOS whitelist for my notebook in many ways but unsuccessful, so I need your support.
I have an HP Elitebook 8530p, with the ATI Mobility HD 3650 that is an MXM type II VGA card.
When I bought the notebook I knew of the HP whitelist limitations, but the notebook was so perfect for my needs that I bought it anyway.
Now I would try to update my VGA card.
First I bought a compatible Nvidia Quadro FX 770M that is in the list of accepted VGA cards; card installed and working!
But was not enough for me... recently I've had the possibility to install an ATI Radeon HD 4670 and an Nvidia Geforce 9600M GT.
With the 9600M GT installed the notebook doesn't boot, blank screen (ant this was predictable!).
But surprise, with the Mobility 4670 it boots and run Windows, I've also installed drivers and everything is ok... except for the fact that the notebook randomly shuts down (and this is not for a temperature problem, is not hot!).
I think this problem is due to whitelist limitation, it could shutdown randomly from 30 secs from the boot to max a 10 minutes of the notebook powered on... shutdown during 3DMark or only leaving the notebook powered on... no matter, it shutsdown always within 10 minutes from the boot and randomly.
So I need a whitelist patch, but this time is to remove the VGA whitelist, not for the WLAN card... any ideas?!? :p
Thank you!

--- sk0rpi0n -->

TTAV134
20 Dec 2010, 19:53
@sk0rpi0n

who can claim to know everything, we are all beginners at something.

As far as i know, only Network controllers (PCI CLASS 2) are concerned by the whithelist limitation, it is hard coded in the sub prog. i've never seen any error message concerning VGA limitation, but if you have more informations i can search in modules and disassemble the code.
anyway you will find here a list of HP machines with (Wlan/wwan) whitelist check removed http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=333358#post333358 including your 8530p/8530w Notebook PC.
concerning the shutdown, have you any trace in the event viewer of windows.
i cant imagine any magic time bomb in the bios.
PM to nando4 his is a hardware specialist.

TTAV134
20 Dec 2010, 20:11
Ladies and gentlemen, perhaps I found the problem: enter COMS, find the "Usb Device Detection Delay (Sec)" change 3 seconds.every time I now find,

@nando4

Can you confirm this information.

sk0rpi0n
20 Dec 2010, 22:57
@TTAV134

I just tried to install the BIOS with whitelist removed, but as you said it removes only network controllers whitelist (PCI CLASS 2, right?)... so the problem with the VGA cards remains.
No errors in the windows event viewer, it's surely a BIOS compatibility problem cause it shuts down even with Ubuntu loaded!
The strange thing is that the Mobility 4670 is NOT in the compatible cards list of HP, so this card SHOULD give the same problem of the 9600M GT... instead the notebook start and boot, and randomly it "dies" within 10 minutes from the boot... no error messages, it shuts down immediately and stop, no restart or other messages / blinking leds...
3DMark 2005 runs fine until it "dies"... very very strange! :confused:

lxjinfo
21 Dec 2010, 09:00
@nando4

Can you confirm this information.

在这之前我把LC5730升级到最新固件,但是问题一样存在。刚才我反复还原COMS,用默认的设置就只能第一次找到WWAN卡,重启之后就找不到,设置"Usb Device Detection Delay (Sec)" 为3秒或更大数字每次就都可以找到WWAN卡,我试着设置成1和2秒,不稳定出现默认设置的情况有时找得到有时找不到,问题真正找到了!我反复测试了20次,已经确定了。

Before I upgrade to the latest firmware LC5730, but the same problem exists. I have repeatedly restore the COMS, with the default settings for the first time only to find WWAN card not found after reboot, set the "Usb Device Detection Delay (Sec)" for 3 seconds or greater numbers can be found each time WWAN Card, I tried to set 1 and 2 seconds, unstable situation there is sometimes the default settings sometimes can not find the find the problem really found it! I have repeatedly tested 20 times, have been identified.

nando4
21 Dec 2010, 12:34
But was not enough for me... recently I've had the possibility to install an ATI Radeon HD 4670 and an Nvidia Geforce 9600M GT.
With the 9600M GT installed the notebook doesn't boot, blank screen (ant this was predictable!).
But surprise, with the Mobility 4670 it boots and run Windows, I've also installed drivers and everything is ok... except for the fact that the notebook randomly shuts down (and this is not for a temperature problem, is not hot!).
I think this problem is due to whitelist limitation, it could shutdown randomly from 30 secs from the boot to max a 10 minutes of the notebook powered on... shutdown during 3DMark or only leaving the notebook powered on... no matter, it shutsdown always within 10 minutes from the boot and randomly.
So I need a whitelist patch, but this time is to remove the VGA whitelist, not for the WLAN card... any ideas?!? :p

You'll need to get the vbios for the MXM module you are using AND figure a way of grafting it into the system bios. If the bios can be editted in ez2h2o then perhaps the vbios component can be overwritten using hxd's memory editing feature and saved back to a bios image? Not sure, TTAV134 is an expert at modifying the newer Elitebook bios.

I know too the HDX9000 folks would love the ability to mod in a FX3700M or GTX260M/GTX280M vbios into their system Inventec systembios. Fingers crossed, semi (author of ADDCCV3) or Veit (author of compdeco) will make a compressor for *at least* a single module so that the compressed vbios can be pasted over the existing compressed vbios module.

@TTAV134 - I hadn't tried the bios-set 3sec USB detection delay with the MC8781 that failed and don't have it at hand to try again. Hopeful to get some other WWAN modules to test.

sk0rpi0n
21 Dec 2010, 14:49
Thanks nando4,
can you explain me how to do it? :p

nando4
21 Dec 2010, 16:14
Thanks nando4,
can you explain me how to do it? :p

Can start by finding the right VBIOS for the MXM module you intend to use. Place to look is other system's bios who use that MXM module. Use a tool like PhoenixTool to decompress the system bios into modules, one of which will be the vbios.

sk0rpi0n
21 Dec 2010, 19:45
Hi, the ATI Mobility HD 4670 came from the MSI GX623 notebook of my sister.
As far as I know MSI don't use the whitelist system, in fact on the MSI I can install every MXM II card I want (tried!).
So do you think that in the MSI's BIOS I will find a module which contains the VBIOS?
Can I extract the VBIOS directly from the Mobility 4670 actually installed on my HP Elitebook 8530?
Or as you said it's a module that is necessarily in the BIOS of the original machine (MSI)?
Can I use PhoenixTool to try to extract VBIOS modules from my HP 8530, at least to see how these modules works?
I'm an absolute beginner at this point! :p
Sorry for the stupid questions, I didn't understand how this VBIOS / Modules works!

sk0rpi0n
21 Dec 2010, 19:51
Can start by finding the right VBIOS for the MXM module you intend to use. Place to look is other system's bios who use that MXM module. Use a tool like PhoenixTool to decompress the system bios into modules, one of which will be the vbios.

Can I extract the MSI's BIOS modules directly from the BIOS update file downloaded from the MSI website or must I extract these modules from the started notebook (MSI)?

TTAV134
21 Dec 2010, 20:47
Hi, the ATI Mobility HD 4670 came from the MSI GX623 notebook of my sister.
As far as I know MSI don't use the whitelist system, in fact on the MSI I can install every MXM II card I want (tried!).
So do you think that in the MSI's BIOS I will find a module which contains the VBIOS?
Can I extract the VBIOS directly from the Mobility 4670 actually installed on my HP Elitebook 8530?
Or as you said it's a module that is necessarily in the BIOS of the original machine (MSI)?
Can I use PhoenixTool to try to extract VBIOS modules from my HP 8530, at least to see how these modules works?
I'm an absolute beginner at this point! :p
Sorry for the stupid questions, I didn't understand how this VBIOS / Modules works!

please, can you create a dedicated thread for this subject.

sk0rpi0n
22 Dec 2010, 02:28
@TTAV134 & @nando4

Thread moved here (I can't post html links for now!):

forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/23794-Elitebook-8530-and-Mobility-HD-4670

Thank you all!

phu_dj
22 Dec 2010, 10:26
delete request

lxjinfo
22 Dec 2010, 14:39
@nando4

Can you confirm this information.

my problem solved TKS your BIOS for 6910P

TTAV134
22 Dec 2010, 17:17
i have

Compaq V6000 (compaq 6205nr)

======================================
i download sp48125.exe and extract and i got 30B7F43.WPH

open 30B7F43.WPH with phoenix bios editor

i find in : "C:\Program Files\Phoenix Technologies Ltd\BIOS Editor\temp"

BIOSCOD1.ROM and open with winhex

well, i change infomation with two card and it working now,

share it to everyone see!;)

!!! "Phoenix BIOS Editor" the best tool to brick the bios !!!!

sk0rpi0n
22 Dec 2010, 22:18
Hi,
what's the best tool to edit my HP Elitebook 8530p notebook's BIOS?
I think it has Insyde bios... or can I try with the Phoenix BIOS Editor?
If then, where I can download the last version?
Thank you! ;)

TTAV134
22 Dec 2010, 22:28
Hi,
what's the best tool to edit my HP Elitebook 8530p notebook's BIOS?
I think it has Insyde bios... or can I try with the Phoenix BIOS Editor?
If then, where I can download the last version?
Thank you! ;)

it is an Insyde bios
andyP's tool is the best http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/13194-Tool-to-Insert-Replace-SLIC-in-Phoenix-Insyde-Dell-EFI-BIOSes

and some infos here for beginners http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/13358-How-to-Use-New-Phoenix-Bios-Mod-Tool-to-Modify-Phoenix-Dell-Insyde-EFI-Bios-Files

sk0rpi0n
22 Dec 2010, 22:46
Hi,
the Phoenix SLIC Tool is only to modify the SLIC string.
I need a tool to remove the whitelist to install a different MXM VGA card!
Has someone already tryied that on a HP notebook?
Thanks...! :D

JeanYuhs
25 Dec 2010, 18:13
Can anyone offer some advice on this situation:

I have an HP 8510p that works great, runs Windows 7 Professional x64 exceptionally well, but I can't get it to boot from the USB ports at all because the BIOS options were locked up with an Admin password.

I'm not looking for the password (this is an off-lease machine, the company that sold it didn't know the password either), I'm just looking to find out if flashing a new BIOS will wipe that out - so far I haven't been able to do the flashing from Windows because of that password:

The Windows flashing tool for this machine (for BIOS F15, the latest) won't work because it asks for the password.

Since I can't boot from USB that means I need to find a way to do this by putting the files on a bootable CD which is easy, I just can't seem to find a BIOS flasher for this particular machine that works because I don't even know who makes the damned BIOS.

So while I can use the laptop and it works fine, I just don't have access to the F10 Setup options so I can enable the USB booting. If anyone can help, it's greatly appreciated. I just want to get rid of the BIOS Admin password that's keeping me from getting into the F10 Setup menu. Again, it's not the power on password - I have complete access to using the laptop, just not the BIOS so I can enable the USB booting once again.

Thanks...

nando4
26 Dec 2010, 02:08
You need to login to view this posts content.

JeanYuhs
26 Dec 2010, 06:09
I had someone over at NotebookReview tell me that HP DMIFIT utility would fix the password thing or completely wipe it out and restore things to "normal" out of the box new condition, and I guess I'm just doing something wrong because I don't see any option to do such a thing when I use that tool (made a bootable CD with all the stuff on it). I boot from it and run the NBDMIFIT.BAT file and I'm given the option to program a new model/serial/asset tag, that sort of thing, but there's no option to remove the password, reset it, or clear it outright.

No offense but the instructions for these tools and utilities are pretty sparse so I suppose I'm just missing something somewhere or I'm just doing this wrong to start with.

Just to clarify: I just want to reset/clear the Admin password that's stopping me from using F10 to get into the BIOS Setup. I made a bootable CD, it works fine, I can redo the model/product number/serial/asset tag if I want, but I find no options for changing/resetting/clearing any passwords at all.

Someone explain it to me like I'm a 6 year old, please. :D

dudematters
26 Dec 2010, 14:52
This did not work for me (HP Compaq 6715b), nothing happens. Is there another way (tried WIN-B, no result)

sk0rpi0n
26 Dec 2010, 21:01
Hi,
noone knows how to mod BIOS in HP Elitebook series (my is 8530p) to make working other MXM VGA cards that are not included in the damned HP whitelist?
Is there any way to permanently remove whitelist?
As far as I know and as I found on the web in the last month noone has ever tried this operation before... why no interest in the community to upgrade the VGA card on this elite models?
I tried to install the modded BIOS I found in this thread but it seems that it removes whitelist only for WLAN cards, not for VGA...
My 8530p has an Insyde BIOS... thank you all!

nando4
27 Dec 2010, 04:25
I tried to install the modded BIOS I found in this thread but it seems that it removes whitelist only for WLAN cards, not for VGA...
My 8530p has an Insyde BIOS... thank you all!

How about finding a way of changing the vbios as previously described (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=354605#post354605)? Myself and TTAV134 have already given advice on where to begin.

JeanYuhs
28 Dec 2010, 11:26
Anyone? Nothing further about resetting/clearing the F10 Setup password using HPBI103 or HPDMIFIT some other tool? Would be greatly appreciated if anyone can point me in the right direction...

nando4
28 Dec 2010, 11:34
Anyone? Nothing further about resetting/clearing the F10 Setup password using HPBI103 or HPDMIFIT some other tool? Would be greatly appreciated if anyone can point me in the right direction...

There's a BiosconfigUtility.exe that comes with SSM. It allows bios changes to be made from the DOS prompt. Perhaps a way of changing bios settings even if there's a bios password?

My 2510P has a socketted bios chip so if it was bios protected AND no software was available to unset the password, I'd consider copying a eeprom from a non-password protected system over.

Perhaps Linux' flashrom can be used to read/write the eeprom as partially done here (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=179288&highlight=#post179288).

sk0rpi0n
28 Dec 2010, 21:42
@nando4

Hi nando,
thank you for your help.
I wanted to know where could I find the VBIOS of the new MXM VGA card I've installed on the Elitebook 8530 (Mobility HD 4670)... can I take it direclty from the card or can I obtain it from the BIOS of the notebook from where the card was pulled out (MSI GX623)?
What's the best tool to mod easily the Insyde BIOS?
Thank you again...!