PDA

View Full Version : This is no request thread! HP COMPAQ bioses, how to modify the bios?



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38

zetitres
30 Oct 2010, 14:50
Hello TTAV134

Tested on nx8220 with network card Intel 802.11b (non-HP) - passed. Whitelist removed. Do You have the same BIOS with SLIC 2.1?



My Nx8220 flashed as well with success. Thanks.

Yen
30 Oct 2010, 18:05
Updated first post with all new info.

TTAV134
31 Oct 2010, 01:56
You need to login to view this posts content.

death_jax
31 Oct 2010, 17:53
WWAN/WLAN whitelist removal
I've found a solution now for these HP EliteBook laptops, if somebody wants to test.

regards

This method isn't for the new BIOS, is true?

TTAV134
31 Oct 2010, 20:51
This method isn't for the new BIOS, is true?

1- I sent you a PM on this subject yesterday because you'v made a request for EFI bios HP6735.
2- old bios had been de-whitelisted
3- This method IS for all HP InSyde bios

juanerson
01 Nov 2010, 00:25
Hi all the MDL community and specially to TTAV134, thank you very much for your Top hard work. Please sorry for my bad english, just want to comment, on insanelymac 6520s, 6720s, 6820s and 550 thread, we have been following you the last days to make the bios flash (to pass the whitelist) for rebranding our WLAN. However, I have a question about the HP 550, has EFI bios, that's why have non-whitelist mod? Because to DSDT level is identical to HP 65-67-6820s (InSyde). Thanks.

tcntad
01 Nov 2010, 01:40
Hi,

Method for a HP BIOS RECOVERY:

Prerequisite:
The BIOS recovery procedure requires a USB diskette drive and a formatted diskette.
USB pen ----> doesn't work

Download you BIOS from HP, please note the model 68xxx

Copy the bin file of the BIOS on the diskette. eg:68YHV.BIN and not ROM.BIN

Press the 4 harrow keys (up, down, right, left) on the keyboard and power ON.

Wait ~2, 3 seconds an release the keys.

Wait the end of the process ( 2 minutes)

Allright.. I tried the one for nc6400 intel.. Didnt work, now it wont show anything on the monitor and the led for caps lock is flashing, what to do?
I dont have a diskettedrive, although i have an external usbdrive (shows as hdd in my computer). Can i try that one?

Or whatelse can i try?

Edit: I also only have a rom.bin file after extracting the bios update from HPs website.

TTAV134
01 Nov 2010, 02:26
Allright.. I tried the one for nc6400 intel.. Didnt work, now it wont show anything on the monitor and the led for caps lock is flashing, what to do?
I dont have a diskettedrive, although i have an external usbdrive (shows as hdd in my computer). Can i try that one?

Or whatelse can i try?

Edit: I also only have a rom.bin file after extracting the bios update from HPs website.

nobody have never bricked is NC6400 ATI or INTEL, here is the proof that this mob works (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=335921#post335921)

The bios recovery MUST be done with a floppy drive, download the rompaq version from HP if you want a bin file with the exact name, or rename rom.bin to 68YCU.bin (for INTEL)

tcntad
01 Nov 2010, 02:29
nobody have never bricked is NC6400 ATI or INTEL, here is the proof that this mob works (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=335921#post335921)

The bios recovery MUST be done with a floppy drive, download the rompaq version from HP if you want a bin file with the exact name, or rename rom.bin to 68YCU.bin (for INTEL)

I know it works. I found another one on my computer now that i know worked. But i flashed it with a slic 2.0 from HP instead beacuse i thought Id never use windows 7 on this piece of crap.

Since i dont have a floppy drive (for the laptop...) i guess im f****d.

Edit: If i want a bin file? Are there other ways? :p...

TTAV134
01 Nov 2010, 02:38
Hi all the MDL community and specially to TTAV134, thank you very much for your Top hard work. Please sorry for my bad english, just want to comment, on insanelymac 6520s, 6720s, 6820s and 550 thread, we have been following you the last days to make the bios flash (to pass the whitelist) for rebranding our WLAN. However, I have a question about the HP 550, has EFI bios, that's why have non-whitelist mod? Because to DSDT level is identical to HP 65-67-6820s (InSyde). Thanks.

thank's for your interesed, all these bios's are not EFI and not InSyde, and HP550 is in the list HERE (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=333358#post333358).

There is no link for download on HP550 because it must test with success.
PM me a request and i'll give you the link

regards

nando4
01 Nov 2010, 06:00
You need to login to view this posts content.

bozo2467
01 Nov 2010, 16:44
Alternatively, the 6910P schematic
Interesting. Any other sources for schematics for other notebooks like the nw8440?

tcntad
01 Nov 2010, 16:54
You need to login to view this posts content.

death_jax
01 Nov 2010, 17:17
1- I sent you a PM on this subject yesterday because you'v made a request for EFI bios HP6735.
2- old bios had been de-whitelisted
3- This method IS for all HP InSyde bios

Ok, with this message now I'm able to send PM, I'll send it to you.

0scar
03 Nov 2010, 00:20
@TTAV134 : Very sorry for the delay, I'm still not able to PM...and was out of the office for a few days. Here is the ID you were looking for: PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_1508103C&REV_01\4&717F45&0&00E3

However it seems you were able to unwhitelist the 2540p without it !

If it's the case, I'd be more than happy to try it !

Thanks for your hard work,

0

TTAV134
03 Nov 2010, 03:16
@TTAV134 : Very sorry for the delay, I'm still not able to PM...and was out of the office for a few days. Here is the ID you were looking for: PCI\VEN_14E4&DEV_4315&SUBSYS_1508103C&REV_01\4&717F45&0&00E3

However it seems you were able to unwhitelist the 2540p without it !

If it's the case, I'd be more than happy to try it !

Thanks for your hard work,

0

The first tests this weekend on HP6735s of death_jack are pretty bad.
It seems that these bios are protected against any change.
Modification had been made using the direct memory edit with HzH2O and Hxd.
Next time i will use Phoenix Mod Tool which have a different compression algoritm.

regards

0scar
03 Nov 2010, 04:41
Being kind of unfamiliar with the intricacies of bios modding I don't know if I would be much help but if you think I can help by running any tests or providing information, I'd be more than glad too.

On the other hand, I'm gonna give a kind but firm phone call to my account manager at HP asking him about the point of this whitelisting bullshit and. I'll also ask him to give me access to a non-whitelisted BIOS file. We'll see how that goes :biggrin:... Good way to assess my pull with them I guess ;)

Anyways thanks a lot for being the one actually spending time trying to right this wrong :worthy:

nando4
03 Nov 2010, 06:53
On the other hand, I'm gonna give a kind but firm phone call to my account manager at HP asking him about the point of this whitelisting bullshit and. I'll also ask him to give me access to a non-whitelisted BIOS file. We'll see how that goes :biggrin:... Good way to assess my pull with them I guess ;)

Anyways thanks a lot for being the one actually spending time trying to right this wrong :worthy:

The HP/Lenovo whitelisting method has been engineered to halt the bios bootup if detects a non-whitelisted WWAN or wifi card. If no card is detected, it clobber the mPCIe (wifi) or USB (wwan) port so those cannot be hotplugged in after bios bootup. So it is engineered sabotage to provide exclusive use of the vendors wifi/wwan cards as well as ensuring system upgrade profits once those wifi/wwan become superceded.

A whitelisted mPCIe port no longer adheres to the universal use implied by the PCI-SIG foundation's definition of a mini pci-e slot.

imho whitelisting practices should be made illegal and those that profit from it's use made to pay remedy equal to their profit gained to their unknowing victims. Such remedy is not likely to happen anytime soon, so we can thank TTAV134 for undoing the the whitelisting, restoring the functionality that the saboteurs removed.

MeSkywalker
06 Nov 2010, 05:36
So guys, can you enable SLIC 2.1 in Bios for HP ProBook 4720s? I'm using the latest official bios "sp50339.exe"

Also, can I use DMIFIT 2C10 Utility for SLP marker even if I don't have "Factory installed OS" entry in system information? My laptop had Linux pre-installed.

Thanks

TTAV134
06 Nov 2010, 06:37
So guys, can you enable SLIC 2.1 in Bios for HP ProBook 4720s? I'm using the latest official bios "sp50339.exe"

Also, can I use DMIFIT 2C10 Utility for SLP marker even if I don't have "Factory installed OS" entry in system information? My laptop had Linux pre-installed.

Thanks


you are at the right place, you will find here (http://forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/7681-This-is-no-request-thread!-HP-COMPAQ-bioses-how-to-modify-the-bios?p=111460#post111460) a ready to use HP DMI TOOLKIT

1 download the package,
2 read the txt file,
3 follow intructions to build the USB stick

regards

gabris[LT]
06 Nov 2010, 07:15
Hello, maybe there will be patched bios for nc6000? :biggrin:

MeSkywalker
06 Nov 2010, 13:30
Thanks TTAV134, now I have SLIC 2.1. When I enabled SLIC in DOS there was no command to exit, so i just pressed my power button once and it shut-down. Did i do something wrong here? In SLIC Toolkit it now says I have SLIC 2.1 so that a good sign.

Now I need correct certificate and product key and instructions :)

I have: "HPQOEMSLIC-MPC"

Thanks

TTAV134
06 Nov 2010, 14:28
Thanks TTAV134, now I have SLIC 2.1. When I enabled SLIC in DOS there was no command to exit, so i just pressed my power button once and it shut-down. Did i do something wrong here? In SLIC Toolkit it now says I have SLIC 2.1 so that a good sign.

Now I need correct certificate and product key and instructions :)

I have: "HPQOEMSLIC-MPC"

Thanks

hello,
Pressing "power off" button or "CTRL ALT SUPP" is the only way to exit DOS, young Padawan.

TTAV134
06 Nov 2010, 14:34
;339956']Hello, maybe there will be patched bios for nc6000? :biggrin:

hello,
i can do that, i'll PM you the download link in a couple of days.

NOTE: this bios completely different from others, can you communicate the complete ID of your "official" wlan card, that will help me in disassembly process.

regards

gabris[LT]
06 Nov 2010, 20:02
hello,
i can do that, i'll PM you the download link in a couple of days.

NOTE: this bios completely different from others, can you communicate the complete ID of your "official" wlan card, that will help me in disassembly process.

regards

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_1043&SUBSYS_25228086 :rolleyes:

gregk
07 Nov 2010, 07:30
Hi.
Could I ask for bios patch for Nc6000 as well please? Thank you.

gabris[LT]
07 Nov 2010, 09:29
Hi.
Could I ask for bios patch for Nc6000 as well please? Thank you.
Hi, when it will be available it must be checked firslty, because in worst case one bricked bios is better than 2 I think. :D

gregk
07 Nov 2010, 16:52
;340279']Hi, when it will be available it must be checked firslty, because in worst case one bricked bios is better than 2 I think. :D

Are you offering? :D
On second note I have a spare nc6000 that's in bits so as long as I can replace damaged bios chip if need be I'm good to go. But I'm sure TTAV134 wouldn't offer to do a patch if he wasn't confident in doing so.

TTAV134
07 Nov 2010, 17:45
Are you offering? :D
On second note I have a spare nc6000 that's in bits so as long as I can replace damaged bios chip if need be I'm good to go. But I'm sure TTAV134 wouldn't offer to do a patch if he wasn't confident in doing so.

easy guys, it is not a blablabla forum

mysql
07 Nov 2010, 20:45
Hi TTAV134, I am a new member and not able to pm you yet. Can I request a wlan patched BIOS for Compaq N620c? 68BAF.BIN is the dos floppy version of the bios (latest version F.16).

Thank you.

TTAV134
07 Nov 2010, 23:06
Hi TTAV134, I am a new member and not able to pm you yet. Can I request a wlan patched BIOS for Compaq N620c? 68BAF.BIN is the dos floppy version of the bios (latest version F.16).

Thank you.

idem NC6000, in a few days.
regards

edit1: PM sent

gabris[LT]
08 Nov 2010, 01:53
easy guys, it is not a blablabla forum

Hi, sorry can't PM you.... got an error: WMI not supported please use version prior to 4.00.... if you can make a DOS install(with rompaq.exe) it would be much easier, and question can I rename .CAB to .BIN(would it work)? :D

TTAV134
08 Nov 2010, 02:00
You need to login to view this posts content.

0scar
08 Nov 2010, 06:38
@TTAV134 :

Here's the requested BIOS dump (being not able to post links, there's only the sendspace ID...I guess it will suffice :-) ) :

tdqj4y

Thanks a bunch !

0scar
08 Nov 2010, 06:43
pardon me guys...just to be able to PM...

sideeffect
08 Nov 2010, 16:50
Hi
Any chance of a WLAN fixed BIOS for the NC8000? It is more or less the same as the NC6000.

My old supported Intel 2200BG had the ID's

componentId = pci\ven_8086&dev_4220&subsys_12f6103c

DeviceInstanceID = PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4220&SUBSYS_12F6103C&REV_05\4&7562792&0&20F0

Hope you can help me.
Thanks.

TTAV134
08 Nov 2010, 18:40
Hi
Any chance of a WLAN fixed BIOS for the NC8000? It is more or less the same as the NC6000.

My old supported Intel 2200BG had the ID's

componentId = pci\ven_8086&dev_4220&subsys_12f6103c

DeviceInstanceID = PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4220&SUBSYS_12F6103C&REV_05\4&7562792&0&20F0

Hope you can help me.
Thanks.

PM sent.

regards

gabris[LT]
08 Nov 2010, 20:27
NC6000 BIOS works great! :) Thanks a lot TTAV134! :)

mysql
09 Nov 2010, 07:46
TTAV134,
Your patch to bypass the whitelist on my N620c worked flawlessly. I ran it for a few hours and rebooted several times so it's holding up pretty well. No more "104-Unsupported wireless network device detected" error. I hope your "whitelist" of HP/Compaq laptops continues to grow with your de-whitelisting patches. Thank you for the big help.

sideeffect
09 Nov 2010, 11:46
PM sent.

regards
Thanks for taking the time to make the BIOS.

The NC8000 flash didn't work for me the first time and the laptop won't boot atm. The disk is trying to spin up though so I think the bootblock is fine.

Tomorrow I will borrow a usb floppy and restore the original version and try to flash the mod BIOS again to see if it was just a bad flash.

bozo2467
09 Nov 2010, 16:26
Can I request a wlan patched BIOS for Compaq N620c? 68BAF.BIN is the dos floppy version of the bios (latest version F.16).Is the n620c applicable and there is a whitelist? There is no built-in wifi except for the multibay. And the multibay is just a USB connector.

bozo2467
09 Nov 2010, 16:33
TTAV134,
Your patch to bypass the whitelist on my N620c worked flawlessly. I ran it for a few hours and rebooted several times so it's holding up pretty well. No more "104-Unsupported wireless network device detected" error.
This is interesting. Where do you place your antennas on your N620c?

mysql
10 Nov 2010, 07:09
Is the n620c applicable and there is a whitelist? There is no built-in wifi except for the multibay. And the multibay is just a USB connector.

N6210c is a fairly old laptop came out in the early 2000's but it's wireless capable via the minipci slot also where the dialup modem usually comes standard with this model although there is no built-in antenna. The BIOS actually has a whitelist consisting of at least two cards, HP branded Atheros MB22g and Intel 2100. I was getting the infamous 104 error with Intel 2200bg before but TTAV134's de-whitelisted BIOS solved the problem.

mysql
10 Nov 2010, 07:15
This is interesting. Where do you place your antennas on your N620c?

I had to take the case apart and run the antenna wires, which I got onlie for $3 a pair, under the motherboard and behind the LCD panel along the edges. It's a painstaking process removing twenty some odd small screws (a few hidden under rubber grommets and tapes on the LCD bezel. yikes!).

news70
10 Nov 2010, 12:05
any one has luck with HP compaq destop DC7100 DC7600 DC7700 or DC7800 ? thanks,

TTAV134
11 Nov 2010, 06:53
any one has luck with HP compaq destop DC7100 DC7600 DC7700 or DC7800 ? thanks,

next in the "to do" list, but unfortunately there is no known tool to decompress the bios and no known DMI utility to enable the SLIC table.

regards

news70
12 Nov 2010, 03:30
Thanks TTAV134 .

What about D530 or DX2000 ? I know it's a long shot since these are even older machine but ...

seraser
12 Nov 2010, 03:56
@TTAV134:

Thank's I wait this moment 2 years ago, finally my hp530 can run others mini-pci express.

Tested Atheros AR5007EG(no hp)work perfect, bye intel 3945 abg.

Thank's again TTAV134 great job

Dunne
12 Nov 2010, 08:21
HP InSyde WWAN/WLAN whitelist removal
I've figured out how to bypass the whitelist checks altogether for these HP laptops, if somebody wants to test.

concerned machines: All bios’s that can be decrypted with EzH2O, more precisely most InSyde bios’s from this HP list 1 HP list 2 HP list 3
would this make it possible with a 8530w whitelist removed?
Thanks!

MIVLives
12 Nov 2010, 10:02
@TTAV134:

Can I also get this patched NC6000 BIOS? Will you make the download available?