Page 1 of 513 12341151101501 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 5129

Thread: [DISCUSSION] Patch WMC to run on Windows 10 final & possible alternatives

  1. #1
    MDL Expert ricktendo64's Avatar
    Join Date
    21 Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,373
    Thanks Information

    Default [DISCUSSION] Patch WMC to run on Windows 10 final & possible alternatives

    HUGE thanks to all who made this possible, here is a quick link to the files needed (always the latest installer)

    http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...=1#post1200602
    Last edited by ricktendo64; 31 Jan 2016 at 06:30.
    If you have old hardware kicking about, please consider donating it to me

  2. #2
    MDL Expert ZaForD's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks Information

    Default

    There was the thread on MSFN about adding WMC to WHS/Vail from a few years ago. Although, I couldn't find it a last time I was looking for it.

    And this thread has an interesting approach to adding/swapping features between Windows SKU's
    http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...into-any-other
    Maybe someone could pick it up again.

  3. #3
    MDL Guru
    Join Date
    14 Dec 2012
    Posts
    2,303
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Raphael's way was an early way to have MCE running on a plain XP.

    It was problematic because was not possible to install the updates from WU.

    Later a better method fas made available, and needed just a single registry entry and few commands to install the unpatched MCE packages.

    In vista and later the matter looks more complicated.

    Maybe using the old tool ntswitch one can convert a server machine to desktop and use the desktop package as they are and then convert back the OS to server. Then the so called kernel protection should be taken in account...

  4. #4
    MDL Senior Member Zardoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    08 Feb 2008
    Posts
    406
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Man I dumped WMC center. Always issues installing. Have to mount a big tent and go through hoops to get it to sink with Xbox and besides is the ATSC, QAM crap for Canada still an issue?

  5. #5
    Imperfect Human pisthai's Avatar
    Join Date
    29 Jul 2009
    Location
    Samut Prakarn (Thailand)
    Posts
    6,080
    Thanks Information

    Default

    There 3.party alternatives available, why not go with them. Most of them even having more features as the native WMC!
    All information posted by myself, are about experiences I had on my own and are NOT taken from anybody else. Third party information is posted as such, include Link to the original Source is available.

    I'll also refrain for to discuss and/or answer post's with user who has impolite, trollish, accusing and/or attacking behavior

    Have a nice day!

  6. #6
    MDL Junior Member
    Join Date
    08 May 2015
    Posts
    99
    Thanks Information

    Default

    WMC is dead , let's move away from that old app.

  7. #7
    MDL Guru
    Join Date
    14 Dec 2012
    Posts
    2,303
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wladw View Post
    WMC is dead , let's move away from that old app.
    Who cares if it's old.

    I care if fits my needs.
    Last edited by T-S; 14 Aug 2015 at 05:58.

  8. #8
    MDL Member
    Join Date
    04 Jan 2009
    Posts
    171
    Thanks Information

    Default

    WMC just works. I have an Anysee E30TC in use with DVB-C and I only had to search for transponders with the CNO Tool. Then I just needed to set up WMC and done.
    Last edited by dejong12; 09 May 2015 at 23:48.

  9. #9
    MDL Expert ZaForD's Avatar
    Join Date
    27 Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,201
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zardoc View Post
    Man I dumped WMC center. Always issues installing. Have to mount a big tent and go through hoops to get it to sink with Xbox and besides is the ATSC, QAM crap for Canada still an issue?
    Quote Originally Posted by wladw View Post
    WMC is dead , let's move away from that old app.
    If its so old and so crap and not worth bothering about.
    Why are you wasting your time posting about it in this thread.


    Quote Originally Posted by pisthai View Post
    There 3.party alternatives available, why not go with them. Most of them even having more features as the native WMC!
    Can you post some info on these 3rd party alternatives.
    I keep hearing about them, but I've not seen a 'real' alternative to WMC posted on any of these threads yet.

  10. #10
    MDL Guru endbase's Avatar
    Join Date
    13 Aug 2012
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    2,525
    Thanks Information

    Default

    Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated


Similar Threads

  1. WMP 12 vs alternatives
    By Zeratul in forum Windows 7
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 07 Oct 2015, 06:59
  2. Windows 8 Start Menu alternatives thread
    By ineedh3lp in forum Windows 8
    Replies: 154
    Last Post: 03 Apr 2014, 15:43
  3. Upgrade Windows 8 Enterprise Final to 8.1 Final
    By xxsisyphusxx in forum Windows 8
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12 Feb 2014, 14:58
  4. Upgrade Windows 8 Enterprise Final to 8.1 Final
    By xxsisyphusxx in forum Windows 8
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12 Feb 2014, 12:25

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •